Wasps move clear in Pool 3 after Bayonne victory

London Wasps cruised to a 30-16 Amlin Challenge Cup victory over French side Bayonne at Adams Park on Thursday evening.

The victory moves London Wasps five points clear at the top of Pool 3 in the Challenge Cup.

The victory moves London Wasps five points clear at the top of Pool 3 in the Challenge Cup.

London Wasps went ahead early on in the match through three penalty kicks from Stephen Jones.

Elliot Daly scored the hosts opening try which with another penalty put Wasps seventeen points ahead.

However just before half time former All Black winger Joe Joe Rokocoko scored the visitors opening try and South African Jacques-Louis Potgieter converted the try.

Bayonne’s burst before half time kept them in the match although Wasps started the second half with a 17-7 lead.

The French visitors stepped up in the second half and Potgieter’s three penalty closed the gap and with Stephen Jones’ penalty the home side led by four points.

Prop Billy Vunipola was sinbinned for dangerous tackling but Andrea Masi scored Wasps second try which effectively sealed the victory.

Replacement fly half Nicky Robinson added the conversion and a penalty which finished the scoring.

Final Score London Wasps (17) 30 Bayonne (7) 16


London Wasps
Tries: Daly, Masi
Con: Robinson
Pens: Jones 4, Daly, Robinson

Try: Rokocoko
Con: Potgieter
Pens: Potgieter 3

Match Officials
Andrew McMenemy (Sco),
Assistant ref: Peter Allan (Sco),
Assistant ref: Andrew Macpherson (Sco),
TMO: Ian Heard (Sco),
Citing Commisioner: Russell Howell (Eng)


London Wasps: Elliot Daly; Christian Wade, Andrea Masi, Chris Bell, Tom Varndell; Stephen Jones, Joe Simpson; Tim Payne, Tom Lindsay, Sakaria Taulafo, James Cannon, Tom Palmer, Sam Jones, James Haskell (c), Billy Vunipola.

Replacements: T Rhys Thomas, Simon McIntyre, Will Taylor, Joe Launchbury, Jonathan Poff, Charlie Davies, Nick Robinson, Tom Bell.

Bayonne: Scott Spedding; Marvin O’Connor, Joe Rokocoko, Manu Ahotaeiloa, Cedric Heymans; Jacques-Louis Potgieter, Mike Phillips; Aretz Iguiniz, Grégory Arganese, Renaud Boyoud, Dewald Senekal, Mark Chisholm (c), Guillaume Bernad, Julien Puricelli, Dwayne Haare.

Replacements: Vitolio Manukula, Pierre-Philippe Lafond, Neemia Tialata, Abdellatif Boutaty, Jean-Jo Marmouyet, Cédric Garcia, Thibault Lacroix, Lionel Mazars.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.