London Irish end losing streak against Bath

London Irish secured their first Aviva Premiership victory of the season when they beat Bath 29-22 at the Madejski Stadium on Saturday.

Steven Shingler was on form with his boot as Irish, who were coming off the back of three hefty defeats managed to hold on for their first win.

Tries either side of half-time, one from Halani Aulika just before the break and another from Jonathan Joseph on 46 minutes, were vital.

Kyle Eastmond was the only one to go over for Bath on 28 minutes as the rest of their points came from the boot of the always reliable Olly Barkley with five penalties and one conversion.

Irish did not help themselves as Jamie Gibson was sin-binned early in the second-half, but Irish defended well whilst a man down.

Ian Humphreys, who was given his debut, was superb at fly-half and did bring something different to the side that seemed to have been missing in their previous games, which gave Irish the edge.

Irish did have a nervous last ten minutes in which Bath came at them.

Shingler, who seems to have a experienced head on his shoulders for a young man, calmly slotted home five penalties and two conversions to secure the man of the match award.

It was Barkley’s two penalties later in the second-half that helped Bath earn a bonus point. But it was Shingler who slotted home his fifth penalty that secured it for the Exiles.

Final Score London Irish 29 (19) Bath 22 (13)


London Irish
Tries: Aulika, Joseph
Penalties: Shingler 5
Conversions: Shingler 2

Tries: Eastmond
Penalties: Barkley 5
Conversions: Barkley

Match Officials
Referee: JP
Doyle (46th Premiership game)
Assistant Referees: Andrew Pearce, Kevin Stewart



15. Nick Abendanon , 14. Kyle Eastmond , 13. Dan Hipkiss , 12. Ben Williams , 11. Tom Biggs , 10. Olly Barkley , 9. Michael Claassens, 8. Simon Taylor, 7. Francois Louw , 6. Carl Fearns , 5. Dominic Day, 4. Stuart Hooper (c) , 3. Anthony Perenise , 2. Lee Mears, 1. Nathan Catt

Replacements , 16. Ross Batty , 17. Paul James , 18. Kane Palma-Newport , 19. Dave Attwood , 20. Ben Skirving , 21. Mark McMillan , 22. Stephen Donald , 23. Jack Cuthbert

London Irish

15. Tom Homer; 14. Topsy Ojo13. Jonathan Joseph; 12. Steven Shingler; 11. Marland Yarde 10. Ian Humphreys; 9. Tomas O’Leary; 1. Max Lahiff; 2. Scott Lawson; 3. Halani Aulika; 4. Bryn Evans; 5. Matt Garvey; 6. Declan Danaher (Captain); 7. Jamie Gibson; 8. Ofisa Treviranus

Replacements: 16. David Paice; 17. Jerry Yanuyanutawa; 18. Alan Cotter; 19. George Skivington; 20. Jon Fisher; 21. Anthony Watson; 22. Shane Geraghty; 23. Jack Moates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.