Barkley boots Bath to victory over Worcester

Olly Barkley kicked eight penalties to earn Bath a 23-24 Aviva Premiership victory in the opening weekend at Sixways Stadium.

Barkley’s eigth penalty came after the hooter and secured the victory for new coach Gary Gold.

The first half was dominated by the respective 10’s as Andy Goode scored five penalties to Barkley’s two to give Worcester the advantage at the interval.

James Percival went over for the only try of the game and Goode added another three-pointer, but the visiting fly-half scored six second-half penalties to give them a narrow victory.

Last season, even though the hosts reached their target of avoiding relegation, they struggled to score tries, instead relying on the boot of fly-halves Goode and Joe Carlisle. That certainly didn’t change here with the former England international displaying outstanding form from the tee.

Two early penalties from the fly-half put the Warriors 6-0 up early on before a third extended their lead after 11 minutes. Matt Banahan was then sin-binned for the visitors and Goode kicked the resultant three-pointer for a deserved 12-point advantage.

However, after Dean Schofield and Stuart Hooper were yellow carded for either side, Barkley reduced the arrears with two penalties of his own.

But Goode continued his fine form with the boot as Worcester led 15-6 at the break.

Despite an excellent first half performance, the Warriors’ advantage was gradually whittled away in the second period.

Barkley, another former capped England player, added his third from the tee before two more penalties in four minutes from the fly-half brought the sides level.

The visiting 10 scored his sixth three-pointer as Bath took the lead for the first time, but Percival’s try regained the hosts’ advantage. Goode and Barkley then traded penalties before the latter secured the win with the last kick of the game.

Final Score Worcester 23 (15) Bath 24 (6)


Worcester Warriors
Tries: Percival
Penalties: Goode 6

Penalties: Barkley 8

Match Officials
: Luke Pearce (4th Premiership game)
Assistant Referees: Stuart Terheege and Kevin Stewart.



15 Chris Pennell , 14 Josh Drauniniu , 13 Alex Grove , 12 Josh Matavesi , 11 David Lemi , 10 Andy Goode , 9 Shaun Perry, 8 Semisi Taulava, 7 Sam Betty , 6 Chris Jones , 5 Dean Schofield (c) , 4 James Percival , 3 John Andress , 2 Aleki Lutui ,1 Matt Mullan

Replacements , 16 Ollie Hayes , 17 Ceri Jones , 18 James Currie , 19 Craig Gillies , 20 Matt Kvesic , 21 Jonny Arr , 22 Joe Carlisle , 23 Ben Howard


15. Nick Abendanon , 14. Tom Biggs , 13. Dan Hipkiss , 12. Matt Banahan , 11. Kyle Eastmond , 10. Olly Barkley , 9. Michael Claassens , 1. Paul James , 2. Lee Mears , 3. David Wilson , 4. Stuart Hooper ( c ) , 5. Dominic Day , 6. Carl Fearns , 7. Francois Louw , 8. Ben Skirving

Replacements: 16. Ross Batty , 17. Nathan Catt , 18. Kane Palma-Newport , 19. Dave Attwood , 20. Will Skuse , 21. Mark McMillan , 22. Ollie Devoto , 23. Jack Cuthbert

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.