Northampton start Premiership with Gloucester win

Northampton Saints started the Aviva Premiership with an 19-24 away victory over Gloucester at Kingsholm on Saturday.

Brothers George and Ken Pisi both scored as Saints ran three tries past their hosts.

In a first half controlled by Saints, two converted tries from George Pisi and Dylan Hartley and a penalty from Ryan Lamb saw the visitors lead 17-6 at the interval, Freddie Burns responding for the home side.

Burns scored two further penalties, but Ken Pisi’s second score sealed the victory and an excellent start for the Midlands’ outfit, despite the hosts being awarded a penalty try late on.

Expectations are currently high for the two squads and it was the visitors who enjoyed the better start.

Lamb added the extras to the Samoan centre Pisi’s score before he converted Dylan Hartley’s try six minutes later.

The West Country outfit hit back through two Burns’ penalties to reduce the arrears to eight points, but the Saints’ fly-half kicked one of his own as they led at the break.

Gloucester continued to edge closer through the boot of their fly-half, as two further three-pointers gave them hope.

But it seemed as though it wasn’t to be for the Cherry and Whites as Ken Pisi went over and Lamb was once again successful with the conversion.

Although Gerrit-Jan van Velze and Paul Doran-Jones were sin-binned late on for Northampton and the hosts were awarded a penalty try, they couldn’t force the victory.

Final Score Gloucester 19 (6 )Northampton Saints 24 (17)


Tries : AN Other
Penalties: Burns 4
Conversions: Burns

Northampton Saints
Tries: Pisi 2, Hartley
Penalties: Lamb
Conversions: Lamb 3

Match Officials
Referee: Dave Pearson (165th Premiership game)
Assistant Referees: Paul Burton and Ian Tempest.


Gloucester Rugby:

Jonny May; Charlie Sharples, Mike Tindall, Billy Twelvetrees, James Simpson-Daniel; Freddie Burns, Dan Robson; Nick Wood, Darren Dawidiuk, Rupert Harden; Tom Savage, Alex Brown (capt); Matt Cox, Akapusi Qera, Ben Morgan

Replacements: Dan Murphy, Huia Edmonds, Shaun Knight, Will James, Sione Kalamafoni, Dave Lewis, Henry Trinder, Martyn Thomas

Northampton Saints

15 Ben Foden, 14 Ken Pisi, 13 George Pisi, 12 Dom Waldouck, 11 Vasily Artemyev, 10 Ryan Lamb, 9 Lee Dickson, 8 GJ Van Velze, 7 Tom Wood, 6 Phil Dowson, 5 Christian Day, 4 Samu Manoa, 3 Brian Mujati, 2 Dylan Hartley (c), 1 Soane Tonga’uiha.

Replacements:16 Mike Haywood, 17 Alex Waller, 18 Paul Doran Jones, 19 Mark Sorenson, 20 Rhys Oakley, 21 Martin Roberts, 22 Stephen Myler, 23 Luther Burrell.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.