Waratahs v Rebels Super Rugby Preview

The Waratahs and the Rebels have played each other three times in the history of Super Rugby and the Waratahs have won all three matches.

The closest that the Rebels have come to the Waratahs is the last result which was a 19-35 victory for the Tahs in Melbourne.

The Rebels have lost their last eight matches away from home and are getting a reputation for being a team that only performs at home.

The only time that the Rebels have won away from home was in April last year when they beat the Force by one point.

The Waratahs on the other hand have won 25 out of their last 31 matches at home although it should be noted that they have already lost twice in 2012 and they have only played three matches at home.

On average when the Waratahs and Rebels play each other the Waratahs score 35 points and the Rebels score 9 points. The last time the Rebels visited Sydney they lost 28-9.

Former Waratahs star fullback Kurtley Beale missed the first match between the teams this year so this will be his first time playing against his old team.

The Bookies have given theRebels a 14 point start for this match – with an offer of Bet 5 and Get 50 in Bets. The Waratahs might have had some wobbles this season but they should win this one with relative ease. Waratahs to win by 15.

This match will be shown on TV in NZ, Aus, SA and in the UK on Sky Sports HD4.

Average score: Waratahs 35 Rebels 9

Last three results
02 Mar 2012 Waratahs v Rebels 35-19 Melbourne
30 Apr 2011 Waratahs v Rebels 28-9 Sydney
18 Feb 2011 Waratahs v Rebels 43-0 Melbourne

Waratahs overall record against the Rebels
Played 3 , Wins 3 , Losses 0 ,Draws 0

Match No .58: Waratahs v Rebels
Date Saturday 21 April
Venue : Sydney
Kick Off local: 19:40
Referee: Jonathan Kaplan
Assistant Ref 1:James Leckie
Assistant Ref 2:Francisco Pastrana
TMO:Matt Goddard



15. Bernard Foley, 14. Tom Kingston, 13. Rob Horne, 12. Tom Carter, 11. Adam Ashley-Cooper, 10. Berrick Barnes, 9. Brendan McKibbin, 8. Wycliff Palu, 7. Chris Alcock, 6. Dave Dennis, 5. Kane Douglas, 4. Dean Mumm, 3. Sekope Kepu, 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1. Benn Robinson.

Replacements: Rocky Elsom, Daniel Halangahu, Jono Jenkins, Sarel Pretorius, Paddy Ryan, Lopeti Timani, Sitaleki Timani, John Ulugia

Melbourne Rebels

1. Nic Henderson,2. Ged Robinson,3. Rodney Blake,4. Luke Jones,5. Hugh Pyle (vc),6. Jarrod Saffy,7. Michael Lipman,8. Gareth Delve (c),9. Nick Phipps,10. Danny Cipriani,11. Mark Gerrard,12. James O’Connor,13. Lloyd Johansson,14. Lachlan Mitchell,15. Kurtley Beale

Replacements: 16. Luke Holmes,17. Jono Owen,18. Al Campbell,19. Tim Davidson,20. Richard Kingi,21. Julian Huxley,22. Cooper Vuna

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.