Evans kicks Harlequins to draw with Newcastle

Nick Evans kicked a late penalty to earn Harlequins a 9 all draw with Newcastle Falcons at Kingston Park in the Aviva Premiership.

Newcastle looked be on track for a hard earned victory but Evans’s penalty cost the Falcons two points which could be crucial in their Premiership survival fight.

It was a tight and physical encounter with a penalty apiece from Jimmy Gopperth and Evans all there was to show in the opening period.

The second was equally with stale with Gopperth and Evans trading two more three-pointers each.

The result extends Quins’ advantage at the top of the Aviva Premiership while it moves Newcastle to within four points of 11th place Wasps.

Although they sit at the foot of the Premiership table, the Falcons have found some momentum in recent weeks and defeated London Irish in their last home match.

However, it was Harlequins who started this match in excellent fashion and were rewarded when Evans kicked a penalty.

But they couldn’t maintain their dominance and Newcastle hit back through the boot of Gopperth.

Chris Pilgrim was then sin-binned for the hosts, but the visitors couldn’t take advantage and a fraught half finished 3-3.

The game continued in much the same fashion in the second period with the boot dominating the game.

After 45 minutes, Quins nudged ahead with an Evans three-pointer before Gopperth once again levelled the scores with one of his own.

Rob Vickers was then the second Falcons’ player to receive a yellow card, however, he was lucky not to get worse after punching Joe Marler.

But the hosts’ fly-half put Newcastle into the lead for the first time before Evans rescued the draw with the last kick of the game.

Final Score Newcastle 9 (3) Harlequins 9 (3)


Penalties: Gopperth 3

Penalties: Evans 3

Referee: Andrew Small (67th Premiership game)



15 Greg Goosen, 14 Tom Bedford, 13 Jamie Helleur, 12 James Fitzpatrick, 11 Jeremy Manning, 10 Jimmy Gopperth, 9 Chris Pilgrim, 1 Grant Shiells, 2 Rob Vickers, 3 Euan Murray, 4 Adriaan Fondse, 5 Tim Swinson, 6 Taiasina Tu’ifua, 7 Will Welch, 8 Ally Hogg

Replacements: 16 Michael Mayhew, 17 Jonny Golding, 18 Ashley Wells, 19 James Goode, 20 Mark Wilson, 21 Adam Balding, 22 Will Chudley, 23 Alex Tait


15. Mike Brown , 14. Tom Williams , 13. George Lowe , 12. Jordan Turner-Hall , 11. Ugo Monye , 10. Nick Evans , 9. Danny Care, 8. Nick Easter (C), 7. Luke Wallace , 6. Tom Guest , 5. Tomas Vallejos , 4. Olly Kohn, 3. James Johnston , 2. Chris Brooker, 1. Joe Marler

Replacements:16 Rob Buchanan , 17 Mark Lambert , 18 Tim Fairbrother , 19 Pete Browne , 20 Will Skinner , 21 Karl Dickson , 22 Rory Clegg , 23 Matt Hopper

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.