Treviso put the boot into Biarritz in Heineken Cup

Treviso’s Kris Burton kicked three penalties and two conversions to help his team beat Biarritz 30-26 in Pool 5 of the Heineken Cup at Stadio Comunale di Monigo.

Biarritz outscored Treviso by four tries to three but Burton’s three penalties made the difference for the home side.

South African Corniel van Zyl (pictured) scored the last of Benetton Treviso’s three tries shortly before Yann Lesgourgues scored Biarritz’s fourth and bonus point try.

Following up from their impressive draw against the Ospreys in Round 2, Kristopher
Burton inspired Treviso to victory in northern Italy.

The Italian side raced into an early lead in Treviso with tries from Michele
Rizzo and Robert Barbieri.

Fly-half Kristopher Burton added both conversions to give his side a 14 v 0

Pelu Taele grabbed a try back for the visitors but Cornelius van Zyl was soon
adding his name to the scoresheet as the second-row touched down for Treviso’s
third try.

Biarritz, through Marcelo Bosch narrowed the deficit with a second try just
before the break but Burton had the last word of the half kicking a penalty
to give Treviso a 24 v 12 lead at the interval.

Burton kicked his second penalty at the start of the second period but after
that point it was one way traffic from the visitors.

Damien Traille went over after 58 minutes, followed by Yann Lesgourgues five
minutes later. Replacement Julien Peyrelongue added four points with the boot
to bring the scores to within a point with 15 minutes to play.

Burton though took his tally to 16 points with another penalty with two minutes
from time clinch the famous victory.

Final Score Treviso 30 (24) Biarritz 26 (12)


Tries: Rizzo, Barbieri, van Zyl
Penalties: Burton 3
Conversions: Botes, Burton 2

Tries: Taele-Pvihi, Bosch, Traille, Lesgourgues
Conversions: Baby, Peyrelongue 2

Referee: JP Doyle (England)

Benetton Treviso: L McLean; L Nitoglia, T Benvenuti, A Sgarbi, B Williams; K Burton, T Botes; M Rizzo, E Ceccato, L Cittadini, A Pavanello [capt], C van Zyl, R Barbieri, A Zanni, P Derbyshire

Replacements: D Vidal, I Fernandez Rouyet, P di Santo, V Bernabo, M Vosawai, M Filippucci, E Gori, A Di Bernardo

Biarritz Olympique Pays Basque: I Balshaw; T Ngwenya, B Baby, D Traille [capt], I Bolakoro; M Bosch, Y Lesgourgues; F Barcella, B August, C Johnstone, J Thion, P Taele, W Lauret, T Gray, F Faure

Replacements: R Terrain, Y Watremez, S Marconnet, J Roidot, B Guyot, J Peyrelongue, C Gimenez, D Haylett-Petty

With thanks to ERCRugby.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.