Cardiff give Edinburgh the Heineken Cup Blues

Cardiff Blues moved to the top of Heineken Cup Pool 2 when they beat Edinburgh 25-8 at Cardiff City Stadium on Friday evening.

The Edinburgh defeat made it six in a row against the Blues and Michael Bradley’s
men can’t afford a seventh in the return leg at Murrayfield next week.

As for the Blues, they relied on the boot of Dan Parks to steer them to a third
successive win and maintain the unbeaten record of the Welsh regions in this
season’s tournament.

If it wasn’t pretty, it was still effective for the home side as they leapfrogged
their main rivals for a spot in the last eight and put themselves on course
for a return to the top flight.

A drop goal and penalty from Parks edged the Blues ahead 6-3 at the break and
then three more penalties in the opening 15 minutes of the second period moved
the home side into the box seat.

But, as they proved in their 48-47 thriller over Racing Metro in the last round,
Edinburgh are capable of opening up even the tightest of defences and when Tim
Visser popped a ball out of a tackle to send fellow wing Lee Jones over for
the first try it was anyone’s game.

Until, that is, ‘Dan the Man’ added a second drop goal and ended the night
with a match winning tally of 20 points with a touchline conversion of new Wales
wing Alex Cuthbert’s 74th minute try.

The Blues are now three points clear at the top of the table and one big performance
away from putting themselves in the clear.

Final Score Cardiff Blues 25 (6 ) Edinburgh 8 (3)


Cardiff Blues
Tries: Cuthbert
Penalties: Parks 4
Conversions: Parks

Tries: Jones
Penalties: Laidlaw
Drop-goals: Parks 2

Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)

Cardiff Blues: L Halfpenny; A Cuthbert, C Laulala, J Roberts, C Czekaj; D Parks, L Williams; G Jenkins, T Thomas, T Filise, B Davies, P Tito [capt], M Paterson, S Warburton, X Rush

Replacements: R Tyrrell, J Yapp, S Andrews, M Molitika, J Navidi, R Rees, C Sweeney, G Evans

Edinburgh Rugby: C Paterson; L Jones, N De Luca, J King, T Visser; H Leonard, G Laidlaw [capt]; A Jacobsen, R Ford, G Cross, S Cox, E Lozada, D Denton, R Grant, S McInally

Replacements: S Lawrie, K Traynor, J Gilding, S Turnbull, R Rennie, M Blair, J Houston, T Brown

With thanks to ERCRugby.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.