Gopperth kicks Falcons to London Wasps victory

Jimmy Gopperth kicked Newcastle Falcons to a 15-10 victory over London Wasps Kingston Park in the Aviva Premiership.

Gopperth kicked Newcastle into an early lead after Wasps had been penalised
for not releasing in the tackle. But the visitors struck back within five minutes.

Christian Wade showed amazing pace to break away from the Falcons’ blindside
defence and fly over the tr line from 20 metres out. Ryan Davis was on target
with his conversion to make it 3-7.

Wasps dominated proceedings during the minutes that followed and went close
to extending their lead, but it was Newcastle who posted the game’s next points
through another Gopperth penalty after Wasps had infringed at the line-out.

The Falcons then regained the lead on the stroke of half-time when Gopperth
stepped up to convert another penalty opportunity, this time from a narrow angle.

That made it 9-7 and, with the rain teeming down, another tight forty minutes
was predicted following the restart.

Almost inevitably, the first points of the second half came from the boot of
Gopperth after Wasps had infringed at yet another line-out.

The visitors reduced Newcastle’s advantage back down to two on the hour mark
when Elliot Daly kicked a penalty after Mayor had got Wasps into a good position.

But Gopperth struck again with little over ten minutes remaining to make it
15-10 following an infringement at the ruck. Wasps searched desperately for
the score that would win them the game in the closing stages, but Newcastle
held on for a crucial first win of the season.

Final Score Newcastle 15 (9) London Wasps 10 (7)


Newcastle Falcons
Penalties: Gopperth 5

London Wasps
Tries: Wade
Penalties: Daly
Conversions: Davis

Referee: Sean Davey (100th Premiership game)


Newcastle Falcons

15 Greg Goosen , 14 Luke Fielden , 13 Corne Uys , 12 Jamie Helleur , 11 Ryan Shortland , 10 Jimmy Gopperth , 9 Will Chudley , 8 Ally Hogg, 7 Will Welch, 6 Richard Mayhew , 5 James Hudson (captain) , 4 Tim Swinson, 3 Ashley Wells , 2 Joe Graham 1 Grant Shiells

Replacements :16 Michael Mayhew , 17 Darren Fearn , 18 James Hall , 19 Glen Townson , 20 Mark Wilson , 21 Chris Pilgrim , 22 Luke Eves , 23 Alex Tait

London Wasps :

15. Hugo Southwell , 14. Tom Varndell , 13. Chris Bell , 12. Riki Flutey , 11. Christian Wade , 10. Ryan Davis , 9. Nic Berry , 1. Tim Payne , 2. Rob Webber , 3. Ben Broster , 4. Richard Birkett , 5. Ross Filipo , 6. Joe Launchbury , 7. Jonathan Poff , 8. John Hart ( c )

Replacements: , 16. Tom Lindsay , 17. Jeremy Castex , 18. Simon McIntyre , 19. Joe Burton , 20. Matt Everard , 21. Jonah Holmes , 22. Elliot Daly , 23. Richard Haughton

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.