EP Kings change 6 for Griffons in Currie Cup

Eastern Province Kings head to Griffons with a total of 6 Currie Cup changes to the starting line-up that played against the Border Bulldogs last week.

Profile try scorer SP Marais makes a welcome return to the side after missing last week’s match. Other noticeable absentees are speedster Norman Nelson, Captain Luke Watson and experienced campaigner Falie Oelschig.

All three are expected for selection for next week’s clash against the Valke.

Coach, Alan Solomons alluded to the fact that Welkom isn’t an easy location to get to, but all the right travelling arrangements have been put in place and he along with the coaching staff and team are looking forward to the game.

Kings stand in captain Hannes Franklin commented “We’ve had some good training sessions this week and all players are geared up for the match”, he further commented that the focus wasn’t on getting an 8th victory in a row but rathergetting the basics rigtht and coming away with favourable results.

The game takes place on Saturday 10th September at 15:00.

Eastern Province Kings

15 SP Marais,14 Marcello Sampson,13 Jaco Bekker,12 Matthew Tayler-Smith,11 Joe Breytenbach,10 Louis Strydom (Vice-Captain),9 Danie Faasen,8 Darron Nell, 7 Devin Oosthuizen, 6 Boetie Britz,5 Ross Kennedy,4 Barend Pieterse,3 Clint Newland,2 Hannes Franklin (Captain),1 Jaco Engels

Replacements : 16 Bobby Dyer,17 Ronnie Uys,18 Wayne van Heerden,19 Mpho Mbiyozo,20 Jacques Coetzee,21 George Whitehead,22 Tiger Mangweni

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.