Chiefs vs Crusaders Super Rugby Preview

The Chiefs will host this match in Mt Maunganui Tauranga and it will be the first time these two teams have played at the venue.

The Crusaders plans for this match were disrupted shortly after they named the team to play this match as Dan Carter pulled up in training and was replaced by Matt Berquist.

Luckily for the Crusaders the blow was not that big as Berquist played last week and they obviously went well in attack and defence due to the 27-0 result.

When Richie McCaw comes off the bench it will be his first taste of Super Rugby for this year.

The Chiefs will be coming off a bye and will have captain Mils Muliaina who has said that he feels the Chiefs need to step up now and that they are a better team than their current position suggests.

The Chiefs and the Crusaders have played each other 15 times and the Chiefs have won just four times. However two of those wins came in the last five matches.

On average the Chiefs score 20 points against the Crusaders who score 30 points against the Chiefs. Whilst this match is not in Hamilton when the Crusaders play away against the Chiefs the matches are much closer affairs as the scores change to 22 points on average to the Chiefs and 25 to the Crusaders.

The Crusaders have won the last two matches but the Chiefs won the two before that. Out of the last five clashes the Crusaders have won three.

The Bookies have given the  Chiefs a 10 point start for this match – with an offer of Bet 10 and Get 20 in bets. We think the Crusaders are the form team of the tournament and they will be too strong for the Chiefs – Crusaders by 14.

Last five results
12 Mar 2010 Chiefs v Crusaders 19-26 Hamilton
14 Feb 2009 Chiefs v Crusaders 13-19 Christchurch
18 Apr 2008 Chiefs v Crusaders 18-5 Hamilton
04 May 2007 Chiefs v Crusaders 30-24 Christchurch
10 Mar 2006 Chiefs v Crusaders 19-25 Hamilton

Chiefs overall record against the Crusaders
Played 15 , Wins 4 , Losses 11 , Draws 0

Match Officials
Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Mark Lawrence (South Africa), Glen Jackson (New Zealand)
Television match official: Nick Briant (New Zealand)


Chiefs :1. Toby Smith , 2. Hika Elliot , 3. Ben Afeaki , 4. Romana Graham , 5. Isaac Ross , 6. Liam Messam , 7. Tanerau Latimer , 8. Fritz Lee , 9. Brendon Leonard , 10. Mike Delany , 11. Sitiveni Sivivatu , 12. Dwayne Sweeney , 13. Richard Kahui , 14. Lelia Masaga , 15. Mils Muliaina

Reserves: , 16. Aled de Malmanche , 17. Nathan White , 18. Craig Clarke , 19. Scott Waldrom , 20. Tawera Kerr-Barlow , 21. Tana Umaga , 22. Tim Nanai-Williams

Crusaders :1. Ben Franks,2. Corey Flynn,3. Owen Franks,4. Brad Thorn,5. Chris Jack,6. George Whitelock,7. Matt Todd,8. Kieran Read (c),9. Kahn Fotuali’i,10. Matt Berquist,11. Zac Guildford,12. Sonny Bill Williams,13. Robbie Fruean,14. Sean Maitland,15. Israel Dagg

Reserves :16. Quentin MacDonald,17. Wyatt Crockett,18. Luke Romano,19. Richie McCaw,20. Andy Ellis,21.Tom Marshall,22. Adam Whitelock

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.