Waratahs vs Chiefs Super Rugby preview

The Waratahs host the Chiefs in Sydney and will have to put on quite a show for their home crowd as their last match in Sydney was that awful 3-23 loss to the Cheetahs.

The Waratahs hit back from their loss to the Cheetahs by beating the Brumbies last week but that victory cost them Berrick Barnes as he will miss this match.

Last year’s IRB player of the year nominee and former Waratahs flyhalf Kurtley Beale comes in at 10 for this match and regular winger Lachie Turner shifts to 15.

Moving Beale to 10 might not be the end of the world as he is a lot more experienced now and does enjoy some nice runs down the middle.

The Chiefs have named Dwayne Sweeney ahead of Tana Umaga in centrefield and last week’s tryscorer Sona Taumalolo drops to the bench.

The Waratahs have played the Chiefs 15 times and the Waratahs have won on 9 occasions.

On average the Waratahs score 29 points against the Chiefs who on average score 24 points against the Waratahs. In Sydney the scores drop to 27 for the Waratahs and 20 for the Chiefs.

The last time the Chiefs won in Sydney was in 2007. The Waratahs have won the last two matches between the teams but three of the last five matches were won by the Chiefs.

The Bookies have given the  Chiefs a 7 point start – with an offer of Bet 10 and Get 20. We think home advantage should help in the match and the Waratahs should win by 5.

Waratahs overall record against the Chiefs
08 May 2010 Waratahs v Chiefs 46-19 Hamilton
20 Feb 2009 Waratahs v Chiefs 11-7 Sydney
23 Feb 2008 Waratahs v Chiefs 17-20 Hamilton
27 Apr 2007 Waratahs v Chiefs 23-28 Sydney
06 May 2006 Waratahs v Chiefs 33-37 Hamilton

Waratahs overall record against the Chiefs
Played 15 , Wins 9, Losses 6 , Draws 0

Match Officials
Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant referee: James Leckie (Australia), Lourens van der Merwe (South Africa)
Television match official: George Ayoub (Australia)


Waratahs: 15. Lachie Turner , 14. Atieli Pakalani , 13. Ryan Cross , 12. Tom Carter , 11. Drew Mitchell (Balmain) 10. Kurtley Beale , 9. Luke Burgess , 8. Wycliff Palu , 7. Phil Waugh [c] , 6. Ben Mowen , 5. Pat O’Connor , 4. Dean Mumm , 3. Sekope Kepu , 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau , 1. Benn Robinson

Reserves 16. Damien Fitzpatrick , 17. Paddy Ryan , 18. Sitaleki Timani , 19. Dave Dennis , 20. Pat McCutcheon , 21. Brendan McKibbin , 22. Daniel Halangahu

Chiefs team: 1. Toby Smith,2. Hika Elliot,3. Nathan White,4. Craig Clarke,5. Isaac Ross,6. Scott Waldrom,7. Tanerau Latimer,8. Liam Messam (Captain),9. Brendon Leonard,10. Mike Delany,11. Sitiveni Sivivatu,12. Dwayne Sweeney,13. Richard Kahui,14. Lelia Masaga,15. Tim Nanai-Williams

Reserves:16. Aled de Malmanche,17. Sona Taumalolo,18. Culum Retallick,19. Fritz Lee,20. Tawera Kerr-Barlow,21. Tana Umaga,22. Save Tokula

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.