Waratahs vs Cheetahs Super Rugby Preview

The Cheetahs will be aiming to become only the third South African team in 10 years to win a Super Rugby match in Sydney when they take on the Waratahs at the Sydney Football Stadium.

The Bloemfontein team conceded 12 consecutive defeats in Australia against the Waratahs, Brumbies, Reds and Western Force.

This includes four defeats in Sydney and Canberra respectively, as well as two losses in Brisbane and Perth.

Their biggest defeat happened last year, when the team coached by Naka Drotske lost by 15-61 to a rampant Brumbies side in Canberra.

The closest the Bloemfontein team came to securing a victory in Australia was in 2009, when the Western Force had to work to win by 16-10 in Perth.

The Bulls and the Stormers are the only South African Super Rugby teams that have been successful in Sydney during the past 10 seasons.

The Waratahs and Cheetahs have played each other 5 times and the Cheetahs have only won once and that was in Bloemfontein in 2007 when the Waratahs had their worst Super 14 season on record.

The Waratahs usually score 27 points against the Cheetahs who on average usually score 16 points against the Waratahs. However in Sydney the Waratahs normally score 30 points and the Cheetahs 13.

The closest the Cheetahs have come to the Waratahs is 4 points (2008).

The Waratahs are coming off a bye and have Berrick Barnes back – he missed the match against the Crusaders – and also big Wycliff Palu will play his first Super rugby match this season.

The Cheetahs will be coming off a bye after the Lions ended their 17 match losing streak last weekend in Bloemfontein. They have played four and lost for so a victory for the Cheetahs this week would be a real upset.

The Bookies have given the Cheetahs a 17 point start – they have an offer of Bet10 and Get 20 for our users. We think the bookies have this one spot on. Waratahs to win by 17 or more.

Last five results
03 Apr 2010 Waratahs v Cheetahs 40-17 Sydney
01 May 2009 Waratahs v Cheetahs 18-10 Bloemfontein
28 Mar 2008 Waratahs v Cheetahs 23-19 Sydney
17 Feb 2007 Waratahs v Cheetahs 26-30 Kimberley
31 Mar 2006 Waratahs v Cheetahs 26-3 Sydney

Waratahs overall record against the Cheetahs
Played 5 , Wins 4 , Losses 1, Draws 0

Match : Waratahs vs Cheetahs
Date: Sat 19 March
Venue : Sydney
Kick Off local: 19.40
Kick Off GMT: 08.40
Referee: Chris Pollock
Assistant Ref 1:Nathan Pearce
Assistant Ref 2:James Leckie
TMO:George Ayoub


Waratahs :15. Kurtley Beale , 14. Atieli Pakalani , 13. Lachie Turner , 12. Tom Carter , 11. Drew Mitchell , 10. Berrick Barnes , 9. Luke Burgess , 8. Wycliff Palu , 7. Pat McCutcheon , 6. Ben Mowen , 5. Kane Douglas , 4. Dean Mumm [c] , 3. Al Baxter , 2. John Ulugia , 1. Benn Robinson

Reserves , 16. Damien Fitzpatrick , 17. Sekope Kepu , 18. Sitaleki Timani , 19. Dave Dennis , 20. Brendan McKibbin , 21. Daniel Halangahu , 22. Ryan Cross

Cheetahs: Coenie Oosthuizen, Ryno Barnes, WP Nel, Martin Muller, Wilhelm Steenkamp, Heinrich Brussow, Phillip van der Walt, Ashley Johnson, Tweis de Bruyn, Sias Ebersohn, Fabiaan Juries, Andries Strauss (capt), Robert Ebersohn, Phillip Snyman, Riann Viljoen.

Replacements: Skipper Badenhorst, Lourens Adriaanse, Frans Viljoen, Kabamba Floors, Francois Uys, Sarel Pretorius, Naas Olivier.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.