Leeds secure vital London Irish Premiership win

Neil Back’s Leeds Carnegie secured a vital premiership victory when they beat London Irish 27-19 at Headingley on Sunday.

The Yorkshiremen trailed 16-3 during the first half but Luther Burrell crossed the line shortly before the break and Daniel Browne and Mike MacDonald added further tries after the break.

Boosted by their returning England duo Hendre Fourie and Steve Thompson, Leeds had the edge up front and fully deserved their win.

Irish led with a fifth minute penalty from fly-half Chris Malone, who then picked up an injury and was replaced by Ryan Lamb. Lamb kicked two penalties before Leeds got off their mark in the 26th minute with their first penalty of the match from fly-half Adrian Jarvis.

However, in the 34th minute Irish produced a devastating try after Daniel Bowden and Topsy Ojo combined to send Seilala Mapusua over from close range. Lamb added the extras but Leeds hit back shortly before the break when Jarvis’ superb flighted kick was caught and grounded by Burrell in the left-hand corner.

Jarvis added the extras from close to the touchline and Leeds were trailing 16-10 at the break.

In the 56th minute, Lamb dropped a goal but the response from Leeds was remarkable and in the 63rd minute Jarvis sent Browne bustling over from close range.

Leeds claimed their third score in the 70th minute when MacDonald touched down and put the hosts ahead for the first time in the match. Jarvis converted and then added his second penalty to deny Irish a losing bonus point.

Final Score Leeds Carnegie 27 (10) London Irish 19 (16)


Leeds Carnegie
Tries: Burrell, Browne, MacDonald
Penalties: Jarvis 2
Conversions: Jarvis 3

London Irish
Tries: Mapusua
Penalties: Malone, Lamb 2
Drop-goals: Lamb
Conversions: Lamb

Referee: Rob Debney (61st Premiership game)


Leeds Carnegie :15. Michael Stephenson , 14. Henry Fa’afili , 13. Luther Burrell , 12. Lachlan MacKay , 11. Peter Wackett , 10. Adrian Jarvis , 9. Scott Mathie , 1. Gareth Hardy , 2. Steve Thompson , 3. Phil Swainston , 4. Daniel Browne , 5. Marco Wentzel (c) , 6. Kearnan Myall , 7. Hendre Fourie , 8. Alfie To’oala ,

Replacements : 16. Scott Freer , 17. Mike MacDonald , 18. Gareth Denman , 19. Sean Hohneck , 20. Danny Paul , 21. Warren Fury , 22. Ceiron Thomas , 23. Scott Barrow

London Irish :15. Tom Homer; 14. Topsy Ojo; 13. Seilala Mapusua; 12. Dan Bowden; 11. Jonathan Joseph; 10. Chris Malone; 9. Paul Hodgson; 1. Clarke Dermody (captain); 2. James Buckland; 3. Faan Rautenbach; 4. Nick Kennedy; 5. Bob Casey; 6. Jamie Gibson; 7. Steffon Armitage; 8. George Stowers


Replacements: 16. Rob Herring; 17. Max Lahiff; 18. Paulica Ion; 19. Kieran Roche; 20. Richard Thorpe; 21. Adam Thompstone; 22. Ryan Lamb; 23. Darren Allinson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.