London Irish beat Harlequins at the Madejski

London Irish moved above Premiership opponents Harlequins on the Premiership table with a 15-9 victory at the Madejski Stadium.

London Irish fly-half Chris Malone kicked four penalties to help his team edge
past Harlequins.

Rory Clegg landed three for Harlequins but four from Malone and one from Tom
Homer allowed Toby Booth’s men to prevail.

Malone booted the hosts ahead in the fourth minute but Clegg replied with two
three-pointers to put the visitors 6-3 ahead by the 10th minute.

Quins full-back Mike Brown was keen to run the ball at every opportunity but
tryscoring chances were scarce in a hard-fought encounter.

Two more penalties from fly-half Malone put Irish 9-6 ahead by the 24th minute
but Clegg’s third penalty levelled the scores before the break.

The opening ten minutes of the second half mirrored the first half action
with neither side able to build up any sustained period of pressure.

Homer kicked Irish into the lead with a penalty after 52 minutes and the hosts
came nearest to scoring a try when a kick through from Seilala Mapusua narrowly
escaped the clutches of Steffon Armitage as the flanker attempted to scoop up
the ball to score.

Quins were then dealt a severe blow when Jordan Turner-Hall was sent to the
sin-bin for offside at the ruck. Malone was successful with the resulting penalty
to give the hosts a 15-9 lead after sixty three minutes.

Following his penalty success, Malone was immediately replaced by Ryan Lamb
who within seconds was required to play at scrum-half as Paul Hodgson was sent
to the sin-bin.

Final Score London Irish (9) 15 Harlequins (9) 9


London Irish
Pens: Malone 4, Homer

Pens: Clegg 3

Referee: Sean Davey (96th Premiership game)


London Irish: 15. Tom Homer; 14. Topsy Ojo; 13. Seilala Mapusua; 12. Dan Bowden; 11. Adam Thompstone; 10. Chris Malone; 9. Paul Hodgson; 1. Clarke Dermody (captain); 2. James Buckland; 3. Faan Rautenbach; 4. Nick Kennedy; 5. Bob Casey; 6. Jamie Gibson; 7. Steffon Armitage; 8. George Stowers

Replacements: 16. Rob Herring; 17. Max Lahiff; 18. Paulica Ion; 19. Kieran Roche; 20. Richard Thorpe; 21. Jonathan Joseph; 22. Ryan Lamb; 23. Darren Allinson

Harlequins: 15 Mike Brown, 14 Tom Williams 13 Ugo Monye, 12 Jordan Turner-Hall, 11 Ollie Lindsay-Hague 10 Rory Clegg, 9 Dave Moore, 8 Chris Robshaw (capt), 7 Will Skinner, 6 Maurie Fa’asavalu, 5 Pete Browne, 4 Ollie Kohn, 3 James Johnston,, 2 Joe Gray, 1 Joe Marler.

Replacements: 16 Chris Brooker, 17 Ceri Jones, 18 Mark Lambert, 19 Tomas Vallejos, 20 Chris York, 21 Ben Urdapilleta, 22 Tom Casson, 23 Ross Chisholm.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.