Glasgow grind out NG Dragons victory

Glasgow ground out a 21-13 win over Newport Gwent Dragons in their Pool Six Heineken Cup clash in Glasgow on Friday night.

Tries from Graeme Morrison and Fergus Thomson sealed the win for the home side and although they had some shaky spells, their pace behind the scrum always had the visitors in trouble.

The Welsh side got the first try in the 2010/11 Heineken Cup when winger Adam Hughes crossed after 18 in his first European game, Matthew Jones added the conversion for the visitors.

Ruaridh Jackson kicked two penalties to open Glasgow’s account after 20 minutes and brought the scores to within a point.

The 22-year-old fly-half kicked Glasgow into the lead for the first time with another penalty just before Scotland centre Graeme Morrison crossed for a try for the home side, Jackson adding the conversion.

Jones kicked a penalty for the Dragons on the stroke of half time to reduce the deficit to 16-10.

The Welsh fly-half was on the score sheet three minutes after the break with another penalty, but that was the last score of the evening for the Dragons.

Hooker Fergus Thomson scored Glasgow’s second try to give the home side victory for the first time in the opening weekend since 1997.

The Scottish side will look to continue their good start when they travel to face double European champions London Wasps next weekend, while the Dragons must regroup for the visit of the Heineken Cup Champions Toulouse to Rodney Parade.

Final Score Glasgow Warriors 21 (16) Newport Gwent Dragons 13 (10)


Glasgow Warriors
Try – Fergus Thomson, Graeme Morrison
Conversion – Ruaridh Jackson
Penalty – Ruaridh Jackson (3)

Newport Gwent Dragons
Try – Adam Hughes
Conversion – Matthew Jones
Penalty – Matthew Jones (2)

Att: 2,597

Referee: Jerome Garces (France)

Glasgow Warriors: B Stortoni, D van der Merwe, M Evans, G Morrison, F Aramburu, R Jackson, C Gregor, J Welsh, F Thomson, M Low, T Ryder, R Gray, R Harley, J Barclay [capt], R Vernon.

Replacements: D Hall, R Grant, E Kalman, A Muldowney, C Forrester, H Pyrgos, D Weir, R Dewey

Newport Gwent Dragons: W Harries, A Hughes, T Cheeseman, A Smith, A Brew, M Jones, W Evans [capt], P Price, S Jones, B Castle, S Morgan, R Sidoli, D Lydiate, R Sowden-Taylor, A Coombs.

Replacements: L Burns, H Gustafson, N Hall, A Jones, L Evans, J Leadbeater, T Riley, M Evans



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.