Blue Bulls get four Boks back for Currie Cup

Four of the Blue Bulls Springboks will return to Currie Cup rugby against the Free State Cheetahs in Bloemfontein on Saturday.

The Blue Bulls had expected Bakkies Botha to return for them but SARU have instructed them not to select Botha until October the 6th.

The Blue Bulls are however able to name Springbok scrumhalf Francois Hougaard, hooker Chiliboy Ralepelle and lock Flip van der Merwe.

Their fourth returning Springbok is captain Gary Botha, who will start off the bench.

Coach Frans Ludeke, whilst lamenting that fact that Bakkies Botha is not available despite playing only five matches this year, says it will stand the big lock in good stead in the long run and could prolong his active rugby playing days.

Ludeke has selected a five-two bench with Gary Botha, Rossouw de Klerk and Jaco Engels a formidable trio to replace the starting front-row against the tough Free State scrum.

The Blue Bulls team is:

Zane Kirchner, Gerhard van den Heever, Jaco Pretorius, Stefan Watermeyer, Jaco van der Westhuyzen, Jacques-Louis Potgieter, Francois Hougaard, Gerrit-Jan van Velze, CJ Stander, Derick Kuun (capt.), Juandre Kruger, Flip van der Merwe, Werner Kruger, Dean Greyling.

Replacements: Gary Botha, Rossouw de Klerk, Wilhelm Steenkamp, Okkie Kruger, Dustin Jinka, Stephan Dippenaar, Jaco Engels.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.