Galthie named Heineken Cup final ambassador

Fabien Galthie has been appointed as the Heineken Cup final ambassador for the showpiece occasion and climax of the 15th tournament to be played at Stade de France on Saturday, 22 May.

The former France captain won 64 caps, played in four World Cup final tournaments and was named IRB Player of the Year for 2002.

Galthie has played in both ERC tournaments – making 25 Heineken Cup appearances, including the 1999 Heineken Cup final 21-6 defeat by Ulster Rugby – and 11 appearances in the Amlin Challenge Cup.

He played in the tournaments for Colomiers and Stade Francais Paris and coached Stade Francais Paris for four seasons between 204 and 2008, taking the club to the 2005 final against Toulouse at Murrayfield.

“I feel very honoured to have been chosen as the Heineken Cup 2010 final Ambassador,” said Galthie.

“It’s very gratifying because as a player I won the Challenge Cup with Colomiers in 1998 and the following year we lost the Heineken Cup final against UIster. Then, I have been involved with this competition as a coach when I was at Stade Français when we went to the Heineken Cup final in 2005 but lost against Toulouse after extra-time.

“Even if I have never won the Heineken Cup and I have twice lost in finals, I have really enjoyed playing in the tournament. The competition has some magic and for me it is the most outstanding club competition.

“During the last 15 years, the Heineken Cup has really changed and I’m sure the tournament will continue its evolution. The level is very high – just below international level – and has become very popular across Europe.”

Galthie is also on the nine-man panel of judges selecting the landmark ERC15 awards to be announced early next month as some of the most illustrious names in the game nominate the winners of the ERC15 awards, categories covering the best of the last 15 years include:

ERC European Player Award
ERC European Coach Award
ERC European Fair Play Award
ERC European Dream Team (XV of the past 15 years of European Competitions)

In addition to Galthie the panel consists of Sir Ian McGeechan, Lawrence Dallaglio, Ieuan Evans, Donal Lenihan, Michael Lynagh, Stuart Barnes, Stephen Jones and Jacques Verdier.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.