2016 Super Rugby play offs confirmed

The Jaguares victory over the Lions in Buenos Aires concludes the regular Super Rugby season matches and the eight qualifying teams and their final placings have been decided.

The four Conference winners will have home advantage over the four Wild Card places and they all host next weekend’s Quarter final matches.

The 8 Super Rugby teams have qualified as follows.

1.) Hurricanes (NZC1) 53
2.) Lions (AF2) 52
3.) Stormers (AF1) 51
4.) Brumbies (AC 1) 43
5.) Highlanders (WC) 52
6.) Chiefs (WC) 51
7.) Crusaders (WC) 50
8.) Sharks (WC) 43

The Hurricanes won the New Zealand Conference (NZC1), the Lions won the Africa 2 Conference (AF2), the Stormers won the Africa 1 Conference (AF1) and the Brumbies won the Australian Conference (AC1).

The Hurricanes finished the regular season in first place and will host the Super Rugby final unless they are eliminated.

Should the Hurricanes be eliminated the final could be held in Johannesburg, Cape Town, Canberra, Dunedin, Hamilton or Christchurch.

The only city that cannot host the final is Durban as the Sharks are the lowest ranked qualifier.

Should all four New Zealand teams win their quarterfinals, the Hurricanes would host the Crusaders and the Highlanders would host the Chiefs in the Semi-finals.

The Brumbies vs Highlanders match will be played on Friday and the other three will be played on Saturday.

2016 Super Rugby Quarter-Final Line ups

Match No.136: Brumbies (4) v Highlanders (5)
Date : Fri 22 July
Venue : GIO Stadium, Canberra
Kick Off local: 18.00 (GMT 0800/ NZ 19.30/ Aus 18.05 )

Match No.137: Hurricanes (1) v Sharks (8)
Date : Saturday 23 July
Venue : Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Kick Off local: 19.35 (GMT 07.35/ NZ 19.35 / Aus 17.35)

Match No.138:Lions (2) v Crusaders (7)
Date : Saturday 23 July
Venue : Emirates Airlines Park, Johannesburg
Kick Off local: 16.30 (GMT 14.30/ NZ Sun 02.30 AM / Aus Sun 12.30 AM)

Match No.139:  Stormers (3) v Chiefs (6)
Date : Saturday 23 July
Venue : Newlands, Cape Town
Kick Off local: 19.00 (GMT 17.00/ NZ Sun 5.00 AM / Aus Sun 3.00 AM)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.