Diggin double hands Saints victory over Tigers

Winger Paul Diggin scored two first-half tries to help the Northampton Saints edge Leicester Tigers 17-13 in the Guinness Premiership on Saturday.


The match started with both kickers showing signs of rustiness as Toby Flood and Stephen Myler both missed the opportunity to put their teams in the lead with penalties.

The deadlock was however broken when Saints hero Diggin rounded off a superb backline move to go crashing over in the corner. On 22 minutes Myler made up for his earlier misses as he broke the Tigers defence and sent Diggin away for his second try of the afternoon. Again Myler missed the kick, but it was a 10-0 lead to the home side.

The lead lasted just four minutes as Leicester hit back through a Flood penalty after the Saints were caught offside. Five minutes before the break Flood reduced the gap to just four points with an easy second penalty.

It took just ten minutes in the second half for Northampton to extend their lead as Diggin made a move at the Tigers defence. The ball was recycled quickly and fullback Ben Foden was gifted an easy run over the line for the five-pointer.

On the hour the Tigers kept themselves in the game when scrumhalf Julien Dupuy took a quick penalty to put Flood over the line. The England flyhalf succeeded with the extra two points which made it 17-13 with 20 minutes to play.

The Tigers tried hard to get the elusive try which would’ve put them ahead, but the Saints defence proved too strong as they held out for the win.

Final Score Northampton (10) 17 – Leicester 13 (6)


Northampton Saints
Tries – Diggin 2, Foden
Pen –
Con – Myler

Leicester Tigers
Tries – Flood
Pen – Flood 2
Con – Flood


Northampton Saints: 15 Ben Foden, 14 Paul Diggin, 13 Jon Clarke, 12 James Downey, 11 Sean Lamont, 10 Stephen Myler, 9 Lee Dickson, 8 Mark Hopley, 7 Scott Gray, 6 Mark Easter, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Ignacio Fernandez Lobbe (c), 3 Euan Murray, 2 Dylan Hartley, 1 Tom Smith.

Replacements: 16 Paul Shields, 17 Soane Tonga’uiha, 18 Christian Day, 19 Courtney Lawes, 20 Bruce Reihana, 21 Carlos Spencer, 22 Chris Mayor.

Leicester Tigers : 15 Geordan Murphy, 14 Johne Murphy, 13 Seru Rabeni, 12 Aaron Mauger (c), 11 Matt Smith, 10 Toby Flood, 9 Julien Dupuy, 8 Brett Deacon, 7 Ben Herring, 6 Tom Croft, 5 Ben Kay, 4 Marco Wentzel,3 Julian White, 2 George Chuter, 1 Boris Stankovich.

Replacements: 16 Benjamin Kayser, 17 Martin Castrogiovanni, 18 Martin Corry, 19 Craig Newby, 20 Ben Youngs, 21 Sam Vesty,22 Scott Hamilton.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.