Godman slots into Scottish fly-half role

Edinburgh Rugby duo Rob Dewey and Phil Godman will make their first starts in a Six Nations Championship game when Scotland face Wales at Murrayfield on Saturday.

Their clubmate Scott Murray – sent off in the match against Wales last year – also returns in the second-row to win his 81st cap.

The trio replace Andrew Henderson, Dan Parks and Alastair Kellock respectively from the side that lost 20-42 to England at Twickenham last weekend.

On the bench Perpignan’s Nathan Hines, Edinburgh’s Simon Webster and the Ospreys’ Nikki Walker are added.

“The advantages of the four stand-offs we have are that they are all totally different and allow the game to be played differently,” said Frank Hadden on the switches at fly-half.

“We have picked a team to win this match and by changing the stand-off we will change the way in which we approach this game and play this game.

“Whereas we believed firmly that Dan Parks was the right man at Twickenham, we believe firmly that Phil Godman is the right man for this occasion.

“Rob Dewey took his try well last week and I see him in competition with Andrew Henderson for inside centre.

“I would like to see Marcus Di Rollo face the same sort of competition at outside centre but Graeme Morrison is injured at present and Ben MacDougall is just returning from injury.

“Scott Murray is our most experienced forward and we have opted for that quality on this occasion.”

Hadden also paid tribute to Simon Taylor who will become the 21st Scot to reach the landmark of 50 caps on Saturday.

“Any time you ask Simon to improve upon something he does so,” said Hadden.

“Recently I have asked him to improve the quality of his verbal communication and leadership during matches and his response has been, typically, first-class.”

Scotland: 15 Hugo Southwell (Edinburgh Rugby), 14 Sean Lamont (Northampton Saints), 13 Marcus Di Rollo (Edinburgh Rugby), 12 Rob Dewey (Edinburgh Rugby), 11 Chris Paterson (Edinburgh Rugby, captain), 10 Phil Godman (Edinburgh Rugby), 9 Chris Cusiter (Border Reivers), 8 David Callam (Edinburgh Rugby), 7 Kelly Brown (Border Reivers), 6 Simon Taylor (Edinburgh Rugby), 5 Scott Murray (Edinburgh Rugby), 4 Jim Hamilton (Leicester Tigers), 3 Euan Murray (Glasgow Warriors), 2 Dougie Hall (Edinburgh Rugby), 1 Gavin Kerr (Border Reivers).
Replacements: 16 Ross Ford (Border Reivers), 17 Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh Rugby), 18 Nathan Hines (Perpignan), 19 Allister Hogg (Edinburgh Rugby), 20 Rory Lawson (Gloucester), 21 Simon Webster (Edinburgh Rugby), 22 Nikki Walker (Neath Swansea Ospreys).

Date: Saturday, February 10
Kick-off: 15:30 GMT
Venue: Murrayfield, Edinburgh
Referee: Alan Lewis (Ireland)
Touch judges: Chris White (England), Federico Cuesta (Argentina)
Television match official: Rob Debney (England)
Assessor: Douglas Kerr (Scotland)

365 Digital

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.