Precise Wasps first half seals Harlequins victory

London Wasps did enough in the first half to seal a 24-18 victory against Harlequins even though the visitors came back at the death and put Wasps under pressure at Adams Park.

Danny Cipriani was replaced by Dave Walder shortly after he had seen his second clearance kick charged down in much the same way that keeps happening with England.

Wasps flyhalf Danny Cipriani also made sure his side got off to a good start, kicking three early penalties to race into a 9-0 lead after 16 minutes.

The home side then added a penalty try to the tally in the 22nd minute, which Cipriani converted, before Nick Evans pulled three points back for Quins.

Wasps scored a more conventional try after 27th minute when Chris Bishay stormed over in the corner.

The video ref was called upon to make sure he wasn’t in touch, which he wasn’t, but Cipriani failed to convert and they went into half time at 21-3.

The first 15 minutes of the second half went by without incident before Quins were awarded a penalty try of their own in the 53rd minute.

Evans converted to make it 21-10.

Danny Care then scored Quins’ second try in the 66th minute after a brilliant chip and chase over most of the pitch.


Evans sliced the conversion though, meaning Quins needed a converted try to win with time running out.

Dave Walder extended Wasps’ lead with five minutes to go, kicking a penalty in what was becoming an extremely brutal and physical encounter.

Chris Malone got a last gaps penalty for Quins to make the final score 24-18.

Final Score London Wasps 24 (21) Harlequins 18 (3)


London Wasps
Tries: Penalty try, Chris Bishay
Conv: Danny Cipriani
Pen: Danny Cipriani (3), Dave Walder

Tries: Penalty try, Danny Care
Conv: Nick Evan
Pen: Nick Evans, Chris Malone

Man of the match : Serge Betsen


Wasps : Van Gisbergen Sackey Waldouck Flutey Voyce Cipriani Reddan French Webber Vickery Shaw Skivington Betsen Rees Haskell

Replacements: Ward Beech Birkett Leo Simpson Walder Mitchell

Harlequins: Jones BRooker Ross Percival Robson Robshaw Skinner Easter Care Evans Monye Turner-Hall Tiesi Williams Brown

Replacements: Croall Lambert Evans Guest Gomarsall Malone Barry.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.