Shaw and Reddan return for Wasps against Falcons

Wasps will be boosted by a return of two of their internationals for Friday’s Guinness Premiership clash with Newcastle Falcons.

Journeying to the North East for the second time in as many months, Eoin Reddan and Simon Shaw return to Wasps 22, as the side go in search of Premiership victory.

After an encouraging display, despite a frustrating 76th minute defeat at the hands of Sale last weekend, Director of Rugby Ian McGeechan has made just two changes to his 1XV.

Scrum half Eoin Reddan returns to club duty from the Irish squad following the close of the Guinness Series 2008, replacing Mark Robinson, who misses out on a place in the 22 with young gun Joe Simpson named as cover on the bench.

Now fully recovered from a mild strain to his lateral knee ligament picked up against Harlequins, Academy talent Simpson will be looking to replicate his two tries in two replacement appearances seen this season so far.

The second change comes in the front row where club captain Raphael Ibanez is replaced by Rob Webber. Ibanez is ruled out of Friday’s game following a knock to the head in Sunday’s game against Sale.

As well as Simpson’s inclusion on the bench, two further changes can be seen amongst the replacements with Academy prop Charlie Beech and England and Wasps Simon Shaw named as part of the 22.

Looking ahead to the game McGeechan said, “We are pleased to have some of our experience back in Eoin Reddan and Simon Shaw for what will be a major challenge in Newcastle on Friday. We will be looking to build on the much improved performance that was seen at Adams Park on Sunday against Sale and morale remains high amongst the squad as we look to the next challenge.”

London Wasps team to face Newcastle Falcons in the Guinness Premiership at Kingston Park, KO 8pm, is:

15. Lachlan Mitchell. 14. Chris Bishay.13. Josh Lewsey, 12. Mark Van Gisbergen, 11. Tom Voyce, 10. Dave Walder, 9. Eoin Reddan, 1. Tom French, 2. Rob Webber, 3. Pat Barnard, 4. George Skivington, 5. Richard Birkett, 6. Dan Leo, 7. Serge Betsen, 8. Joe Worsley (C)

Replacements: 16. Damien Varley, 17. Charlie Beech, 18. John Hart, 19. Simon Shaw, 20. Joe Simpson, 21. Hugo Ellis, 22. Jeremy Staunton.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.