Wasps go with youth against Harlequins

After a five week break from Guinness Premiership action, Ian McGeechan has named a Wasps side littered with youth and experience ahead of Sunday’s trip to Twickenham Stoop for the first local derby between the two sides this season.

With nine players on international duty this weekend – eight to England and one to Ireland – McGeechan has called upon not only his experienced heads with Joe Worsley leading the side, but young guns Lachlan Mitchell and Mossy Lawler to help bolster his starting XV.

Making four personnel changes to the 1XV that secured victory over Newport Gwent Dragons at Adams Park on the 2nd November, Lawler, who joined the club last month from Munster on contract with the men in black and gold until the end of the year, comes onto to the wing in place of Josh Lewsey who moves to centre to partner Mitchell in place of Rob Hoadley.

Hoadley is named amongst the replacements alongside Dave Walder who switches with Jeremy Staunton, the latter starting at fly half.

In the forwards, second row George Skivington comes into the starting line up to make his 2008/09 debut. He replaces Dan Leo who is named on the bench alongside Raphael Ibanez and host of Wasps young talents.

Looking ahead to the game, McGeechan said; “We know the challenge that we face throughout the international period but as a club we are delighted for our nine players who will run out for their country this weekend.

“Sunday’s game will be a tough challenge as we face Harlequins – an inform side who have played some good rugby this season – but we are looking forward to getting back to the Guinness Premiership competition.”

London Wasps team to face Harlequins in the Guinness Premiership at Twickenham Stoop on Sunday 16th November KO 3pm is:

15. Mark Van Gisbergen, 14. Mossy Lawler, 13. Josh Lewsey,12. Lachlan Mitchell, 11. Tom Voyce, 10. Jeremy Staunton, 9. Mark Robinson, 1. Tim Payne, 2. Rob Webber, 3. Pat Barnard, 4. George Skivington, 5. Richard Birkett 6. John Hart, 7. Serge Betsen, 8. Joe Worsley (C)

16. Raphael Ibanez, 17. Tom French, 18. Dan Leo, 19. Hugo Ellis, 20. Joe Simpson, 21. Dave Walder, 22. Rob Hoadley



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.