Wallaby Hooper cited for striking Pumas’ Sanchez

Former Wallabies captain Michael Hooper has been cited and will appear before
a SANZAR Judicial Hearing to answer a charge of punching or striking.

Hooper was caught striking Argentina flyhalf Nicolas Sanchez during the second
half of the Rugby Championship match in the build up to Dean Mumm’s try.

Following initial consideration by the SANZAR Duty Judicial Officer Chris Morris,
Hooper will appear at a SANZAR Judicial Hearing after he was cited for alleged
foul play.

Hooper is alleged to have contravened Law 10.4 (a) Punching or striking, when
he made contact with Argentina flyhalf, Nicolas Sanchez in an incident that
occurred in the 59th minute of the match between Argentina and Australia at
Estadio Malvinas Argentinas in Mendoza on 25 July 2015.

The Judicial Officer for the hearing will be Nigel Hampton QC which will be
held by video conference on Wednesday 29 July at 5:00pm AEST, 7:00pm NZST, 4:00am
ART and 9:00am SAST.

Nature of Offence: 10.4 (a) Punching or striking, A player
must not strike an opponent with the fist or arm, including the elbow, shoulder,
head or knee(s).
Elapsed time in match when offence occurred: 59th minute

Video of Hooper striking Nicolas Sanchez

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CAPTCHA *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close