Wales make two changes for final All Black Test

Tomas Francis starts for Wales against the All Blacks

Wales head coach Warren Gatland has named his team for the third and final All Black Test in the series and made two changes to the front-row.

Rob Evans and Tomas Francis come into the starting line up as replacement for Gethin Jenkins at loose-head and Francis coming in for Samson Lee.

Jenkins was ruled out due to a calf injury and has returned to the UK while Samson Lee drops to the replacements bench.

Francis has come off the bench in both the first two test matches and starts at tight-head.

The rest of the pack is unchanged from the second test in Wellington with Luke Charteris and Alun Wyn Jones in the second-row and Ross Moriarty, captain Sam Warburton (50th match as an international captain, Wales (48) Lions (2)) and Taulupe Faletau comprising the back-row.

Wales have named the same backline for the third test with Ospreys duo Rhys Webb and Dan Biggar at half-back and Jamie Roberts partnering Jonathan Davies in midfield. Hallam Amos, Liam Williams and Rhys Patchell make up the back-three.

“We have played some good rugby in the first two tests and we want to finish the tour on Saturday with an 80 minute performance that we are happy with,” said Wales Head Coach Warren Gatland.

“We improved going into the second test and fought to the end and this weekend we have to have the belief and confidence that we can take the victory.

“Playing under the rood in Dunedin will be a great atmosphere and a quick track and we need to take our game to the All Blacks.”

On the bench Aaron Jarvis and Samson Lee join Scott Baldwin as the front-row cover with Jake Ball and Ellis Jenkins completing the forward contingent. Gareth Davies, Rhys Priestland and Scott Williams are named as the backline cover.


Rhys Patchell (Cardiff Blues), Liam Williams (Scarlets), Jonathan Davies (Clermont Auvergne), Jamie Roberts (Harlequins), Hallam Amos (Newport Gwent Dragons), Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Rhys Webb (Ospreys), , Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons), Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues, CAPT), Ross Moriarty (Gloucester), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Luke Charteris (Racing 92), Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs), Ken Owens (Scarlets), Rob Evans (Scarlets)

Replacements: Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Aaron Jarvis (Ospreys), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Ellis Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Rhys Priestland (Bath Rugby), Scott Williams (Scarlets).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.