Wales make three changes for South Africa

Tyler Morgan starts at centre for Wales

Wales coach Warren Gatland has named a side with three changes for their Rugby World Cup quarter final against South Africa with Tyler Morgan, Gethin Jenkins and Dan Lydiate returning to the side.

In the only change to the Wales backline the twenty-year-old Morgan comes in to partner Jamie Roberts in midfield.

Alex Cuthbert will make his 40th Wales appearance in a back three alongside George North and New Zealand born full-back Gareth Anscombe.

Dan Biggar and Gareth Davies continue their half-back partnership with Biggar looking to add to his RWC tally of 42 points.

Jenkins comes back into the starting XV to feature in his 18th RWC match and he packs down alongside Scott Baldwin and Samson Lee.

Luke Charteris and Alun Wyn Jones continue in the second row with the later making his 100th International appearance (94th for Wales, plus six British and Irish Lions appearances).

Dan Lydiate returns to the back row alongside Captain Sam Warburton and Taulupe Faletau.

“After coming through an incredibly tough Pool, we are excited to be in the quarter-finals and returning to Twickenham,” said Wales Head Coach Warren Gatland.

“The physicality and intensity of the matches so far will stand us in good stead for what is going to be a huge battle against the Springboks.

“They have grown game on game in this tournament and we know the challenge that faces us from a talented South African side.”

Ken Owens, Paul James and Tomas Francis are named as the front-row replacements with Bradley Davies and Justin Tipuric completing the forward contingent. Lloyd Williams, Rhys Priestland and James Hook are named as the replacement backs.


Gareth Anscombe , Alex Cuthbert , Tyler Morgan , Jamie Roberts , George North, Dan Biggar , Gareth Davies , Gethin Jenkins , Scott Baldwin , Samson Lee , Luke Charteris , Alun Wyn Jones , Dan Lydiate , Sam Warburton (C) , Taulupe Faletau .

Replacements: Ken Owens , Paul James , Tomas Francis , Bradley Davies , Justin Tipuric , Lloyd Williams , Rhys Priestland, James Hook.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.