Wales forced to make two changes for Italy

Wales coach Warren Gatland has been forced into making two changes for their final round Six Nations Championship match against Italy.

Injuries to Samson Lee and Gethin Jenkins have forced Gatland to bring in Aaron Jarvis at tighthead and Rob Evans at loose-head.

Evans will make his first start as he wins his second cap in Rome and will line-up alongside Ospreys duo Scott Baldwin and Jarvis.

Luke Charteris and Alun Wyn Jones continue in the second row with Dan Lydiate and Taulupe Faletau lining up alongside captain Sam Warburton in the back-row.

The backline remains unchanged with Rhys Webb and Dan Biggar at half-back, Jamie Roberts and Jonathan Davies in the centre and a back-three of George North, Liam Williams and Leigh Halfpenny.

“It was great to get the result we wanted in front of our home supporters last weekend and to give us a chance going into the last round of action,” said Wales Head Coach Warren Gatland.

“Obviously it’s disappointing for Gethin and Samson, but Rob and Aaron stepped up well last weekend and we expect the same on Saturday.

“The challenge to us is to go to Italy and win, and try and win by a significant margin, but we know that’s an extremely tough ask and the first job will be to simply get the result.

“Italy build their confidence around the scrum and line-out drive and that’s an area we are going to have to compete strongly in at the start of the match.”

On the bench, Ken Owens returns to the matchday squad for the first time since South Africa last summer after recovering from injury. Saracens prop Rhys Gill, who was called up to train with the squad yesterday, is named on the bench alongside Scott Andrews as the front-row cover. Jake Ball and Justin Tipuric complete the forward replacements.

Scarlets trio Gareth Davies, Rhys Priestland and Scott Williams provide the backline cover.


Leigh Halfpenny; George North, Jonathan Davies, Jamie Roberts, Liam Williams; Dan Biggar, Rhys Webb; Taulupe Faletau, Sam Warburton (capt), Dan Lydiate; Alun Wyn Jones, Luke Charteris; Aaron Jarvis, Scott Baldwin, Rob Evans

Replacements: Ken Owens, Rhys Gill, Scott Andrews, Jake Ball, Justin Tipuric, Gareth Davies, Rhys Priestland, Scott Williams

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.