Wales bring in their big names for Ireland trial

Wales coach Warren Gatland has named a strong team to play Ireland in Dublin’s
Rugby World Cup warm up with George North winning his 50th cap.

The team will be captained by Alun Wyn Jones while Exeter Chiefs prop Tomas
Francis will make his international debut.

Francis, 23, will pack down in an experienced side with Gethin Jenkins and
Ken Owens joining him in the front-row. Bradley Davies will pack down alongside
captain Jones in the second-row.

British and Irish Lions trio Dan Lydiate, Justin Tipuric and Taulupe Faletau
make up the back-row.

Ospreys half-backs Rhys Webb and Dan Biggar continue their partnership with
Jamie Roberts and Scott Willams named in the midfield.

George North, Alex Cuthbert and Leigh Halfpenny complete the back line.

“The squad are looking forward to travelling over to Ireland for what
is a big warm-up fixture,” said Wales Head Coach Warren Gatland.

“We have trained well over the past few weeks and Saturday is a chance
for a lot of players to get theirfirst taste of rugby this campaign.

“We trimmed the squad down in the middle of August and the remaining
38 have worked extremely hard.

“It’s always a great game in Dublin and there is an important
factor to this match, with the Rugby World Cup squad announced just a few days

Ospreys trio Scott Baldwin, Paul James and Aaron Jarvis are named as front-row
replacements and are joined by Luke Charteris and James King. Gareth Davies,
Rhys Priestland and Hallam Amos complete the replacements.


Leigh Halfpenny (Toulon), Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), Scott Williams (Scarlets),
Jamie Roberts (Harlequins), George North (Northampton Saints), Dan Biggar (Ospreys),
Rhys Webb (Ospreys), Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Ken Owens (Scarlets), Tomas
Francis (Exeter Chiefs), Bradley Davies (Wasps), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys, CAPT),
Dan Lydiate (Ospreys), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent

Replacements: Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Paul James (Ospreys), Aaron Jarvis (Ospreys),
Luke Charteris (Racing Metro), James King (Ospreys), Gareth Davies (Scarlets),
Rhys Priestland (Scarlets), Hallam Amos (Newport Gwent Dragons).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.