Stormers v Chiefs Super Rugby Preview

Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Stormers and the Chiefs the Stormers have won three and the Chiefs two.

Overall the Stormers have played the Chiefs 16 times in Super Rugby and the Stormers have won 9 matches and lost 7 matches.

This gives the Stormers a record of winning 56% of their matches against the Chiefs regardless of the venue. The average score when the Stormers play the Chiefs is an even Stormers 26 Chiefs 26.

This weekend the match will be played in Cape Town so the Stormers will have home advantage as they have done on 7 occasions. In those 7 home matches for the Stormers they have won 5 matches and lost two.

The average score when the Stormers play the Chiefs in Cape Town is : Stormers 25 Chiefs 23.

In terms of form the Stormers – who top the Super Rugby standings – are one of two teams that are still unbeaten (The Hurricanes are the other team) and they have played four matches so far – two away from home and two at home.

The Chiefs were unbeaten until last week when a late Marty Banks penalty resulted in the Chiefs losing their first match this season. The Chiefs are the top placed New Zealand have played four matches but three of them were at home.

The one match that the Chiefs have played away from home was against the last placed Blues and they won that match 18-23.

In terms of selection the Chiefs have made six changes for this week but the Hamilton side use more of a squad system than most teams so the changes don’t necessarily mean that the squad is weaker or stronger.

Liam Messam start at flank with Japanese captain Michael Leitch making his Super Rugby debut at No.8.

Brad Weber starts at halfback and is joined by Tim Nanai-Williams at centre, Bryce Heem on the right wing and Damian McKenzie at fullback.

Jamie Mackintosh, Augustine Pulu, Andrew Horrell and Tom Marshall all join the replacements.

The Stormers have been more experimental in their selections as they have a new halfback pairing of Kurt Coleman and Louis Schreuder as two of the four changes.

Kobus van Wyk and Jean Kleyn come into the team while Eben Etzebeth is rested. Schalk Burger is on the bench.

The last time the Chiefs won in Cape Town was in 2009 but more worryingly for the Chiefs since the start of 2012 just three teams have won in Cape Town – the Sharks (twice), Crusaders and Waratahs.

The Bookies have given the Chiefs a 1 point start for this Match – with an offer of a FREE $150 BET. The stats speak for themselves. Losses in Cape Town for the Stormers are a very rare event. The Chiefs will push them hard this week but we think the Stormers will edge this by a point.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ, Aus, SA and in the UK on Sky Sports 3/HD on the red button.

Average score: Stormers 26 Chiefs 26

Last five results
14 Mar 2014 Stormers v Chiefs 20-36 Hamilton
09 Mar 2013 Stormers v Chiefs 36-34 Cape Town
14 May 2011 Stormers v Chiefs 23-30 Hamilton
16 Apr 2010 Stormers v Chiefs 49-15 Hamilton
03 May 2009 Stormers v Chiefs 14-28 Cape Town

Stormers overall record against the Chiefs
Played 16 , Wins 9, Losses 7, Draws 0

Match No.33:Stormers v Chiefs
Date : Saturday 14 March 2015
Venue : DHL Newlands, Cape Town
Kick Off local: 15:00 local, 00:00* AEDT, 02:00* NZDT
Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 1:Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Ref 2:Quinton Immelman
TMO :Shaun Veldsman



15. Cheslin Kolbe , 14. Kobus van Wyk , 13. Juan de Jongh (vice-captain) , 12. Damian de Allende , 11. Dillyn Leyds , 10. Kurt Coleman , 9. Louis Schreuder , 8. Duane Vermeulen (captain) , 7. Siya Kolisi , 6. Nizaam Carr , 5. Manuel Carizza , 4. Jean Kleyn , 3. Vincent Koch , 2. Scarra Ntubeni , 1. Steven Kitshoff (50th cap for Stormers)

Replacements: 16. Neil Rautenbach , 17. Alistair Vermaak , 18. Frans Malherbe , 19. Ruan Botha , 20. Schalk Burger , 21. Nic Groom , 22. Demetri Catrakilis , 23. Huw Jones


1. Pauliasi Manu , 2. Hika Elliot , 3. Ben Tameifuna , 4. Matt Symons , 5. Michael Fitzgerald , 6. Liam Messam , 7. Sam Cane , 8. Michael Leitch ** , 9. Brad Weber , 10. Aaron Cruden , 11. James Lowe , 12. Sonny Bill Williams , 13. Tim Nanai-Williams , 14. Bryce Heem , 15. Damian McKenzie

Replacements: 16. Quentin MacDonald , 17. Siate Tokolahi , 18. Jamie Mackintosh , 19. Michael Allardice , 20. Maama Vaipulu , 21. Augustine Pulu , 22. Andrew Horrell , 23. Tom Marshall

** Super Rugby Debut

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.