Stormers beat Sharks in Cape Town

Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Stormers and the Sharks the Durban based side the Sharks have won three and the Stormers two.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Sharks kick off and we are underway. 

2.00: The Sharks almost get the perfect start as they slip through the Stormers defence but they knock on. 

3.00: Penalty to the Sharks. Lambie signals they will go for posts. 

4.00: Lambie slots the penalty and the Sharks lead. 

6.00; The Sharks turn the ball over and run at the Stormers. The Stormers lose the ball and attack but then they win a penalty. 

8.00: The Stormers kick for touch. 

9.00: Penalty to the Stormers (Bismarck du Plessis/Ndungane) Killing the ball. 

10.00: Stormers kick for touch and the line out. 

13.00: The Stormers win the ball from a scrum and attack the Sharks just outside the Sharks 22. 

15.00: Demetri Catrakilis goes to catch and ball and knocks on.

17.00: Out of almost nothing the Stormers get the luck of the bounce which goes straight into Johnny Kotze’s hands and he does in to score. TRY! 

18.00: Catrakilis adds the conversion. 

19.00: The Sharks almost get one back as Lwazi Mvovo gets a bouncing ball from a Reinach kick but this is one not as good and the Stormers shut him down. 

20.00: The Sharks win a line out and use the maul. They drive over the line but there is an infringement. Nic Groom is yellow carded. Cobus Reinach is down getting help from the medics. 

23.00: The Stormers win a scrum on the Sharks put in. They kick but fail to find touch. The Sharks counter attack. 

24.00: Patrick Lambie goes for the line and scores. TRY! Replays show the ball may have been short but the try is awarded anyway. 

25.00: Lambie takes the conversion kick nails it. 

27.00:Johnny Kotze kicks for touch and it sets up a Sharks line out. they win the line out and attack the Stormers in their 22. 

28.00: Penalty to the Stormers for holding on. Stormers kick to the half way line. 

29.00: Frans Steyn jumps for a ball and lands on Cheslin Kolbe. Kolbe stays down. The TMO is called in to check for foul play.It’s just a penalty to the Stormers. They kick for touch. 

31.00: The Stormers are awarded another penalty. Catrakilis slots the kick and levels the scores. 

33.00: Lambie makes a break but gets caught. 

34.00: The Sharks scrum powers over the Stormers scrum and wins the put in. 

36.00: The Stormers have a scrum inside their 22. They win the scrum and run the ball. De Allende powers through Lambie’s tackle and the Stormers keep the ball moving forward. 

37.00: The Stormers go through 7 phases and make 60 metres. The Stormers win a penalty for holding on. 

39.00: Catrakilis takes the penalty kick and nails it. Stormers lead. 

40.00: The siren sounds and the Stormers kick the ball into touch. We go to the TMO to check on a tackle by Frans Steyn on Cheslin Kolbe. Nothing comes of it and its half time. 

The half time score was Stormers 13 Sharks 10

The Stormers kick off and we are underway. 

41.00:The Stomers almost get the perfect start as Cheslin Kolbe has a break. He gets the Sharks on the backfoot through a couple of recyles but then the Sharks knock on. 

44.00: Penalty to the Stormers. Catrakilis slots it to extend the lead. 

46.00: Willem Alberts comes off for the Sharks and Renaldo Bothma comes on. 40 232 in attendance at Newlands today. 

47.00: Penalty to the Stormers – Stevens lieing on the ball. They kick for touch. 

49.00: Stormers get the ball to the Sharks 5m line. They go through the phases and from side to side testing the Sharks defence. The ball goes stray so we go back for penalty for playing the man without the ball. 

50.00: Catrakilis slots the penalty. Matt Stevens comes off and Lourens Adriaanse comes on. 

52.00: Schalk Burger comes on for the Stormers. 

56.00: Cobus Reinach kicks for touch but the ball goes straight out. The Stormers however concede a penalty at the line out so the Sharks kick for touch. 

63.00: Penalty to the Sharks for a high tackle. Lambie takes the kick and slots it. Catrakilis comes off. 

65.00: The Stormers charge down a Sharks (Reinach) kick. Odwa Ndungane tries to get the ball but loses it. Reinach plays the ball from an offside position and a penalty try is awarded. 

66.00: Kurt Coleman slots the conversion. 

71.00: Penalty to the Stormers. They kick for the corner but miss so the Sharks kick the ball back. 

72.00: Frans Steyn is yellow carded so the Sharks will finish with 14 players. Late tackle on Cheslin Kolbe. He has been on Kolbe all day. The Stormers have a penalty. Coleman lines up the kick and nails it. 

77.00: The Stormers chip the ball upfield and chase. Juan de Jongh chases and gather the ball and scores. The TMO is called in to check if its a try. Louis Schreuder looks to be in front of the kicker. No try. 

79.00: The Sharks throw the ball in at a line out but the Stormers steal the ball. It’s all the Stormers. 

80.00: The siren sounds but we have time for a scrum. The Stormers win the scrum and kick for touch. 

Thats it. The Stormers win. 

The full time score is Stormers 29 (13) Sharks 13 (10) 


Tries – J.Kotze, Penalty try
Pen – D.Catrakilis 4, k.Coleman
Con – D.Catrakilis, K.Coleman
Drop –
Cards -N.Groom (21st min yellow)

Tries – P.Lambie
Pen – P.Lambie 2
Con – P.Lambie
Drop –
Cards -F.Steyn (72nd min yellow)

Match Officials
Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 1:Quinton Immelman
Assistant Ref 2:Cwengile Jadezweni
TMO :Deon van Blommestein



15. Cheslin Kolbe , 14. Johnny Kotze , 13. Juan de Jongh (vice-captain) , 12. Damian de Allende , 11. Dillyn Leyds , 10. Demetri Catrakilis , 9. Nic Groom , 8. Duane Vermeulen (captain) , 7. Siya Kolisi , 6. Nizaam Carr , 5. Manuel Carizza , 4. Eben Etzebeth , 3. Vincent Koch , 2. Scarra Ntubeni , 1. Steven Kitshoff

Replacements: 16. Neil Rautenbach (On Super Rugby debut for the Stormers) , 17. Alistair Vermaak , 18. Frans Malherbe , 19. Jean Kleyn , 20. Schalk Burger , 21. Louis Schreuder , 22. Kurt Coleman , 23. Huw Jones


15. SP Marais , 14. Odwa Ndungane , 13. JP Pietersen , 12. Francois Steyn , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 10. Patrick Lambie , 9. Cobus Reinach , 8. Ryan Kankowski , 7. Willem Alberts , 6. Marcell Coetzee , 5. Pieter-Steph du Toit , 4. Lubabalo Mtyanda , 3. Matt Stevens , 2. Bismarck du Plessis (C) , 1. Thomas du Toit

Replacements : 16. Kyle Cooper , 17. Dale Chadwick , 18. Lourens Adriaanse , 19. Marco Wentzel , 20. Renaldo Bothma , 21. Conrad Hoffmann , 22. Andre Esterhuizen , 23. Jack Wilson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.