Stander makes Ireland debut against Wales

South African CJ Stander will make his debut for Ireland

Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt has named his team to play Wales on Sunday at the Aviva Stadium with South African CJ Stander making his debut.

Sean O’Brien has been ruled out of the match so the backrow consists of the uncapped CJ Stander on the blindside, Tommy O’Donnell at openside and Jamie Heaslip at No.8.

The second row sees Devin Toner and Mike McCarthy paired together while Rory Best wins his 90th cap as he assumes the captain’s role and is joined in the front row by Jack McGrath and Nathan White.

Conor Murray and Johnny Sexton are partnered at halfback while Robbie Henshaw and Jared Payne are reunited in midfield.

Andrew Trimble and Keith Earls fill the wing positions with Simon Zebo lining out at fullback.

The replacements are Sean Cronin, James Cronin, Tadgh Furlong, Donnacha Ryan, Rhys Ruddock, Kieran Marmion, Ian Madigan and Dave Kearney.


15. Simon Zebo , 14. Andrew Trimble , 13. Jared Payne , 12. Robbie Henshaw , 11. Keith Earls , 10. Jonathan Sexton , 9. Conor Murray , 8. Jamie Heaslip (vc) , 7. Tommy O’Donnell , 6. CJ Stander , 5. Devin Toner , 4. Mike McCarthy, 3. Nathan White, 2. Rory Best (c) , 1. Jack McGrath

Replacements :16. Sean Cronin , 17. James Cronin , 18. Tadhg Furlong , 19. Donnacha Ryan , 20. Rhys Ruddock , 21. Kieran Marmion , 22. Ian Madigan , 23. David Kearney

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.