Springboks to play six home Test matches in 2016

Jan Serfontein looks to break through Ireland's defence

The South African Rugby Union have announced the details of their six home Tests for the 2016 season which starts with three Tests against Six Nations champions Ireland.

South Africa’s Springboks will play a three-test series against the Springboks in Cape Town, Johannesburg and Port Elizabeth in June 2016.

SARU also confirmed that back-to-back Rugby World Cup champions, New Zealand, would venture away from Johannesburg for the first time since 2011 when they meet the Springboks at Kings Park, Durban, on 8 October in the Rugby Championship.

Rugby World Cup finalists Australia return to Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria, while their semi-final opponents, Argentina, will venture into new territory for the Pumas, in Nelspruit, when they take on the Boks in the opening round of the Rugby Championship on 20 August.

Springbok home fixtures in 2016

Incoming Series v Ireland

– 11 June: South Africa v Ireland (1st Test), Newlands, Cape Town
– 18 June: South Africa v Ireland (2nd Test), Ellis Park, Johannesburg
– 25 June: South Africa v Ireland (3rd Test), Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth

Rugby Championship (home fixtures)

– 20 August: South Africa v Argentina, Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit
– 1 October: South Africa v Australia, Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
– 8 October: South Africa v New Zealand, Kings Park, Durban

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.