Sio returns for Australia to face New Zealand in RWC Final

Scott Sio returns for Australia to face New Zealand

Wallabies head coach Michael Cheika has named an Australia team to play New Zealand’s All Blacks in the 2015 Rugby World Cup final at Twickenham on Saturday.

Cheika has been able to bring back Scott Sio after he missed the Semi-Final which pushes James Slipper down to the replacements bench.

The front row switch is the only change in the Wallabies’ starting XV following the 29-15 victory over Argentina last Sunday, as the Australians prepare for a record-equalling fourth Rugby World Cup Final.

Australia will have one survivor from their last World Cup Final in 2003, with Matt Giteau lining up at inside centre.

Giteau replaced current Wallabies Assistant Coach Stephen Larkham briefly in that Final 12 years ago.

Saturday’s Rugby World Cup Final will be the first played between Australia and New Zealand, with the winner to become the first nation to win the tournament three times.

The Wallabies took home the William Webb Ellis trophy defeating England in 1991 and France in 1999 and made a third Final against England in 2003.

Wallabies Head Coach Michael Cheika said nothing would change for his team heading into the decider.

“This week we’ve had a strong focus on improving certain areas in our game where we feel we havent been at our best in the previous matches” he said.

“We still have lots of scope to improve and we’ll work on that before this next match against New Zealand.”

“Our lads are learning to cherish each opportunity they have in the gold jersey and this week we have that opportunity again and we’ll be doing our best to make Australia proud of it’s rugby team.”


1. Scott Sio , 2. Stephen Moore (c) , 3. Sekope Kepu , 4. Kane Douglas , 5. Rob Simmons , 6. Scott Fardy , 7. Michael Hooper (vc) , 8. David Pocock , 9. Will Genia , 10. Bernard Foley , 11. Drew Mitchell , 12. Matt Giteau , 13. Tevita Kuridrani , 14. Adam Ashley-Cooper (vc) , 15. Israel Folau

Replacements :16. Tatafu Polota-Nau , 17. James Slipper , 18. Greg Holmes , 19. Dean Mumm , 20. Ben McCalman , 21. Nick Phipps , 22. Matt Toomua , 23. Kurtley Beale

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.