Sharks put the boot into Jaguares

Odwa Ndungane gets caught by the Jaguares

Pat Lambie kicked a late penalty to help the Sharks edge the Jaguares 22-25 at Velez Sarsfield, Buenos Aires in Argentina.

The Jaguares dominated possession but Lambie kept the Sharks in the lead for most of the match through penalty kicks.

The Jaguares drew level on 22 points with nine minutes remaining but even though the Sharks were a man down they held on and Lambie kicked the match winner in the 78th minute.

The victory moves the Sharks above the Bulls in the South African Group and into one of the wild card places for the play offs.

Next week the Jaguares return to South Africa as they face the Lions in Johannesburg and the Sharks host the Kings in Durban.

More to follow.

Final Score Jaguares 22 (17)  Sharks 25 (19) 


Tries -T.Lavanini, M.Landajo, S.García Botta
Pen – N.Sanchez
Con – N.Sanchez 2
Drop –
Cards – P. Matera (33rd min yellow)

Tries -D. du Preez
Pen – P.Lambie 6
Con – P.Lambie
Drop –
Cards -S’bura Sithole (69th min yellow)

Match Officials
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Ref 1:Juan Sylvestre
Assistant Ref 2:Damian Schneider
TMO :Santiago Borsani



1. Santiago García Botta, 2. Agustín Creevy (C), 3. Ramiro Herrera; 4. Matías Alemanno, 5. Tomás Lavanini; 6. Pablo Matera, 7. Javier Ortega Desio, 8. Leonardo Senatore; 9. Martín Landajo, 10. Nicolás Sánchez; 11. Manuel Montero, 12. Juan Martín Hernández, 13. Matías Orlando, 14. Emiliano Boffelli; 15. Joaquín Tuculet.

Replacements : 16. Julián Montoya, 17. Facundo Gigena, 18. Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 19. Guido Petti, 20. Facundo Isa, 21. Gonzalo Bertranou, 22. Santiago González Iglesias, 23. Lucas González Amorosino.


15. Willie le Roux , 14. Odwa Ndungane , 13. Paul Jordaan , 12. Andre Esterhuizen , 11. JP Pietersen , 10. Patrick Lambie (C) , 9. Stefan Ungerer , 8. Daniel du Preez , 7. Jean Deysel , 6. Keegan Daniel , 5. Stephan Lewies , 4. Lubabalo Mtyanda , 3. Coenie Oosthuizen , 2. Franco Marais , 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements , 16. Chiliboy Ralepelle , 17. Dale Chadwick , 18. Lourens Adriaanse , 19. Etienne Oosthuizen , 20. Tera Mtembu , 21. Joe Pietersen , 22. Garth April , 23. S’bura Sithole

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.