Sharks name Currie Cup team to play Pumas

Odwa Ndungane starts at fullback for the Sharks

Sharks head coach Robert du Preez has named his Currie Cup team to play in the Pumas at Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit in the First Division opener.

“Starting this campaign on a positive note is priority for us,” said Robert du Preez.

“I said at the outset that bringing our fans back is something I am passionate about, and by playing a brand of rugby that is entertaining, but also brings us results, is what we intend to do.

“The Pumas can never be taken lightly and we know they will be up for the challenge on Friday. We have a good mixture of youth and experience, and everyone is keen to get our campaign underway.

“Keegan’s leadership record speaks for itself and he will play a mentorship role, with the assistance of the other leaders in our squad.”


15. Odwa Ndungane , 14. Neil Maritz , 13. Lukhanyo Am , 12. Andre Esterhuizen , 11. S’bura Sithole , 10. Curwin Bosch , 9. Michael Claassens , 8. Philip van der Walt , 7. Jean-Luc du Preez , 6. Keegan Daniel (c) , 5. Stephan Lewies , 4. Etienne Oosthuizen , 3. Lourens Adriaanse , 2. Franco Marais , 1. Dale Chadwick

Replacements , 16. Chiliboy Ralepelle , 17. Thomas du Toit , 18. Ruan Botha , 19. Tera Mtembu , 20. Stefan Ungerer , 21. Inny Radebe , 22. Heimar Williams

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.