Sharks keep changes to a minimum in Currie Cup

Marco Wentzel returns to captain the Sharks

Sharks coach Gary Gold has kept changes to a minimum for their penultimate Currie Cup pool match of the 2015 season but brought back Marco Wentzel as captain.

The Sharks last two games – against Griquas in Kimberley this weekend and Free State in Bloemfontein the next – have effectively knockout matches and they need maximum points from the last two deciders.

Free State are four points ahead with a potentially tricky clash against the Pumas in Nelspruit, something of a fortress for them, having won two of their three games at home.

Should both the Sharks and Free State win their respective matches, or Free State lose, the final game becomes a knock-out, with the winner advancing through to the semis.

Coach Gary Gold has not fiddled much with his team, and the continuity in selection should prove to be a good weapon in their arsenal.

Marco Wentzel returns to the starting line-up as Captain, having played off the bench last week. His return, means Etienne Oosthuizen moves to the flank with Christiaan de Bruin named on the bench, in an otherwise unchanged line-up.

Griquas are a tough, physical side, but have not quite enjoyed the successes this year that they would have planned for. But when pride is at stake, never expect a team to lie down in the face of danger.

Lourens Adriaanse – Labral tear (right shoulder) , Khaya Majola – Meniscus injury , Daniel du Preez – Knee injury , Jean-Luc du Preez – Wrist fracture , JC Astle – Chest injury , Dale Chadwick – Neck injury were all not considered due to injury.


15. Odwa Ndungane , 14. Wandile Mjekevu , 13. Paul Jordaan , 12. Andre Esterhuizen , 11. S’bura Sithole , 10. Joe Pietersen , 9. Cobus Reinach , 8. Philip van der Walt , 7. Etienne Oosthuizen , 6. Francois Kleinhans , 5. Marco Wentzel (Captain) , 4. Dave McDuling , 3. Gerhard Engelbrecht , 2. Franco Marais , 1. Thomas du Toit

Replacements : 16. Kyle Cooper , 17. Mzamo Majola , 18. Christiaan de Bruin , 19. Jean Deysel , 20. Michael Claassens , 21. Heimar Williams , 22. Garth April

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.