Sale Sharks v Saracens Premiership Preview

Sale Sharks host Leicester Tigers at the AJ Bell stadium

Sale Sharks boss Steve Diamond has made five changes to the side that lost to Worcester for this weekend’s clash against Saracens at the AJ Bell Stadium.

Mark Easter comes into replace the injured Josh Beaumont, and Ross Harrison returns to the starting XV to replace Eifion Lewis Roberts.

Andrei Ostrikov, Johnny Leota and Will Addison come into the side to replace Jonathan Mills, Sam Tuitupou & Nev Edwards respectively.

Diamond said: “We didn’t perform in the first half at Worcester. In the second half we did. Saracens are missing some players but they’re still a very deep squad, and a very good outfit. We’ve got to be at our very best to get something from the game.”

Captain David Seymour paid tribute to the opponents, “Obviously they are where they are for a reason, they have a massive squad, so even during the Six Nations they are bringing in internationals to replace the players who are away.”

“It is a different club from when I was there. A lot has changed, especially within the players and coaching staff, apart from Neil de Kock, he is still going st

Sale Sharks’ six game winning run came to an end with their 23-31 reversal at Worcester on Saturday.

The Sharks are the only side in Aviva Premiership Rugby who are unbeaten at home this season – their most recent defeat in any competition at AJ Bell Stadium was when Harlequins were the visitors last April.

Saracens are the second best team in the Premiership on current form, along with Sale and Newcastle Falcons, all gaining 18 league points from their last six matches.

Saracens only defeat away from home in any competition since April was on their trip to Harlequins on 9th January.

Sale have won just one of their last seven encounters with Saracens in all tournaments: 14-10 at AJ Bell Stadium in this equivalent fixture in round 15 last year.

Saracens have named Charlie Hodgson to captain the side against his former club.

In his final visit to former club Sale Sharks before the record breaking fly-half hangs up his boots at the end of the season, Hodgson will skipper Saracens from fly-half against the side where he made 228 appearances before moving to Saracens in 2011.

Hodgson will be joined by Ben Spencer in the halves, with Richard Wigglesworth ruled out with a finger injury and Neil De Kock still side-lined Henry Taylor is named on the bench as reserve scrum-half.

In the centres, Nick Tompkins replaces Brad Barritt at inside centre, whilst Marcelo Bosch returns to the outside centre berth. In the back three, Chris Wyles (left wing), Mike Ellery (right wing) and Ben Ransom (full-back) continue.

Up front, Titi Lamositele is named at loosehead prop and is joined by Jared Saunders at hooker. Saunders who impressed in Saracens’ win over Gloucester las weekend comes in for Schalk Brits who starts his three-week suspension. Durable tighthead Petrus Du Plessis continues alongside Lamositele and Saunders.

Hayden Smith and Jim Hamilton are named at lock for a second successive game, whilst Kieran Low could make his Saracens debut off the bench with the Scotland international on-loan from Glasgow Warriors named amongst the Sarries replacements.

In the back row, Kelly Brown comes into the starting XV at blindside flanker, with Jacques Burger coming into the side at openside flanker in the place of the rested Will Fraser. Jackson Wray will start at No8.

The Bookies have given Saracens a 3 point start for this Match – with an offer of up to £200 in Bonus bets.

Match : Sale Sharks v Saracens
Date : Saturday 27 February
Venue : AJ Bell Stadium,
Kick Off : 1pm
Live on: N.A
Match Officials
Referee :Tim Wigglesworth (102nd Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Matthew O’Grady & Simon McConnell.
TMO: Trevor Fisher.


Sale Sharks

15. Mike Haley, 14. Will Addison, 13. Sam James, 12. Johnny Leota, 11. Tom Arscott, 10. Danny Cipriani, 9. Peter Stringer, 1. Ross Harrison, 2. Tommy Taylor, 3. Vadim Cobilas, 4. Bryn Evans, 5. Andrei Ostrikov, 6. Cameron Neild, 7. David Seymour (c), 8. Mark Easter.

Replacements: 16. Neil Briggs, 17. Eifion Lewis-Roberts, 18. Brian Mujati, 19. Jonathan Mills, 20. TJ Ioane, 21. Chris Cusiter, 22. Joe Ford, 23. Mark Jennings


15 Ben Ransom , 14 Mike Ellery , 13 Marcelo Bosch , 12 Nick Tompkins, 11 Chris Wyles , 10 Charlie Hodgson (c), 9 Ben Spencer , 8 Jackson Wray, 7 Jacques Burger, 6 Kelly Brown , 5 Jim Hamilton, 4 Hayden Smith , 3 Petrus Du Plessis , 2 Jared Saunders ,1 Titi Lamositele ,

Replacements:16 Dave Porecki , 17 Richard Barrington , 18 Juan Figallo, 19 Kieran Low , 20 Michael Rhodes , 21 Henry Taylor , 22 Nils Mordt , 23 Nathan Earle

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.