Rugby World Cup Officials for the quarter finals

Wayne Barnes will be in charge of Wales v South Africa

Rugby World Cup organisers have announced that Wayne Barnes, Nigel Owens, Jérôme Garcès and Craig Joubert will referee the RWC 2015 quarter-finals this weekend

The match officials have been confirmed for the quarter-final stage of Rugby World Cup 2015 this weekend with Wayne Barnes, Nigel Owens, Jérôme Garcès and Craig Joubert all receiving appointments as referees.

England’s Barnes will take charge of the first match on Saturday between South Africa and Wales at Twickenham (kick-off 16:00) and will be joined by assistant referees George Clancy (Ireland) and JP Doyle (England) with the television match official being Graham Hughes, also of England.

Later the same day, New Zealand take on France at the Millennium Stadium (kick-off 20:00) in a repeat of the RWC 2011 final with Owens of Wales refereeing the game at his union’s home ground. On the line will be Jaco Peyper of South Africa and John Lacey of Ireland while the TMO will be South Africa’s Shaun Veldsman.

The third quarter-final between Ireland and Argentina in Cardiff (kick-off 13:00) on Sunday will be refereed by Garcès of France with his countryman, Romain Poite, and New Zealand’s Chris Pollock as assistant referees. George Ayoub (Australia) will be the TMO.

The final match of the stage will take place at Twickenham on Sunday (kick-off 16:00) between Australia and Scotland and will be refereed by Joubert (South Africa). He will be assisted by Glen Jackson (New Zealand) and Pascal Gauzere (France) with Ben Skeen (New Zealand) the TMO.

World Rugby’s Match Official Selection Committee consists of John Jeffrey (Chairman), Lyndon Bray (SANZAR), Andrew Cole (SANZAR), Donal Courtney (EPCR), Clayton Thomas (Six Nations) and World Rugby High Performance Match Official Manager Joël Jutge.

Rugby World Cup Quarter final match officials

Match :South Africa v Wales
Date : 17/10/2015
Venue : Twickenham
Kick Off local: 16:00
Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)
Assistant Ref 1:George Clancy (Ireland)
Assistant Ref 2: JP Doyle (England)
TMO : Graham Hughes (England)

Match :New Zealand v France
Date : 17/10/2015
Venue : Millennium Stadium
Kick Off local: 20:00
Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant Ref 1: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant Ref 2:John Lacey (Ireland)
TMO : Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)

Match :Ireland v Argentina
Date : 18/10/2015
Venue : Millennium Stadium
Kick Off local: 13:00
Referee: Jerome Garces (France)
Assistant Ref 1:Romain Poite (France)
Assistant Ref 2: Chris Pollock (New Zealand)
TMO : George Ayoub (Australia)

Match :Australia v Scotland
Date : 16:00
Venue : Twickenham
Kick Off local:
Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)
Assistant Ref 1:Glen Jackson (New Zealand)
Assistant Ref 2:Pascal Gauzere (France)
TMO : Ben Skeen (New Zealand)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.