Robinson calls for marked improvements in Edinburgh

Andy Robinson admits he has been disappointed with Edinburgh’s opening two results of the new Magners League season but believes his players can produce the right response against Scarlets at Murrayfield on Friday night (19 September, kick off 7.30pm).

Edinburgh have been on the receiving end of defeats at the hands of European champions Munster and Magners League title holders Leinster during the first two games.

But Robinson believes his team can produce a positive response against Scarlets.

Robinson said: “We have been disappointed with the results, but we understand what we need to do.

“Last season we won a handful of games by really small margins when we managed to perform to the best of our abilities.

“So we realise we have to be at our very best in order to win and eradicate the error-count that has crept into our performances over recent weeks.

“We need to be able to perform for 80 minutes against Scarlets, who will provide a tough challenge.”

Wing Andrew Turnbull, Edinburgh’s top try scorer in the tournament last term, earns his first start of the campaign in a new-look back division.

Chris Paterson slots in at full-back with fellow Scotland internationalist Hugo Southwell moving into midfield alongside Nick De Luca.

In the pack, Alan MacDonald returns to first team duties after a week-long lay-off with a hip problem.

Summer signing Jim Hamilton is named amongst the replacements for the first time after recovering from his shoulder injury while Academy graduate Jim Thompson is also on the bench.

On the injury list, Calum MacRae (hip) joins Simon Webster (hip), David Callam (hip), Simon Cross (ribs) and Roland Reid (knee) in the treatment room.

They are joined by long term casualties Ben Cairns (knee ligament), Ross Rennie (knee), John Houston (pelvic) and Matt Dey (shoulder).

Edinburgh team


15 Chris Paterson
14 Andrew Turnbull
13 Hugo Southwell
12 Nick De Luca
11 Mark Robertson
10 Phil Godman
9 Mike Blair (captain)

1 Allan Jacobsen
2 Ross Ford
3 Geoff Cross
4 Craig Hamilton
5 Ben Gissing
6 Matt Mustchin
7 Alan MacDonald
8 Allister Hogg

Substitutes: Andrew Kelly, Gavin Kerr, Jim Hamilton, Scott Newlands, Ben Meyer, David Blair, Jim Thompson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.