Reds rebound against Cheetahs

Double tryscorer Nick Frisby celebrates a try with his team mates

The Reds held on to earn their second victory of the Super Rugby by beating the Cheetahs 30-17 at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane.

The Reds had lost their last two matches on tour in South Africa but were able to hold off the travel fatigue and secure the victory.

The victory for the Reds is the Queensland side’s third straight victory over the Cheetahs who have never won in Brisbane.

The Reds played a quarter of the match with 14 players as Anthony Fainga’a was yellow carded in the first half and Liam Gill in the final quarter which meant the Reds were under pressure in the closing stages of the match being a man down.

The victory may have come at a cost as the Reds lost their go to man Samu Kerevi in the 64th minute with a serious looking arm injury.

Next week the Reds travel to Christchurch where they will play the Crusaders. The Cheetahs play the Waratahs in Sydney.

More to follow.

Final Score Reds 30 (10) Cheetahs 17 (10)


Tries – C.Browning, N.Frisby 2
Pen – J.McIntyre 3
Con – J.McIntyre 3
Drop –
Cards – A.Fainga’a (28th min yellow), L.Gill (68th min yellow)

Tries – U.Cassiem, R.Rhule
Pen – F.Zeilinga
Con – F.Zeilinga 2
Drop –
Cards – W. Britz (78th min yellow)

Match Officials
Referee: Ben O’Keeffe
Assistant Ref 1:Will Houston
Assistant Ref 2:Nic Berry
TMO : George Ayoub



1. James Slipper (C) , 2. Andrew Ready , 3. Greg Holmes , 4. Ben Matwijow , 5. Rob Simmons , 6. Hendrik Tui , 7. Liam Gill , 8. Curtis Browning , 9. Nick Frisby , 10. Jake McIntyre , 11. Eto Nabuli , 12. Anthony Fainga’a , 13. Samu Kerevi , 14. Junior Laloifi , 15. Karmichael Hunt

Replacements : 16. Saia Fainga’a , 17. Sef Fa’agase , 18. Sam Talakai , 19. Cadeyrn Neville , 20. Michael Gunn , 21. James Tuttle , 22. Duncan Paia’aua , 23. Ayumu Goromaru


15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Nico Lee, 12 Michael van der Spuy, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Fred Zeilinga, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Henco Venter, 7 Uzair Cassiem, 6 Paul Schoeman, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Maks van Dyk, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 Charles Marais

Replacements: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Luan de Bruin, 18 Johan Coetzee, 19 Francois Uys, 20 Oupa Mohoje, 21 Willie Britz, 22 Niel Marais, 23 Niel Marais

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.