Record breaker Keven Mealamu starts for Blues

The Blues have named their team to play the Lions and Keven Mealamu will will establish a new Super Rugby record at the QBE Stadium on Saturday

All Blacks hooker Mealamu has been named in the starting line-up to meet the Lions from South Africa which will be his 163rd appearance in Super Rugby.

This will make him the all-time leader in Super Rugby, a mark he currently shares with retired former Reds, Force and Wallabies lock Nathan Sharpe.

It is the first game of the season for Mealamu who made his debut in 2000.

“Congratulations on becoming the most experienced player in Super Rugby history,” said SANZAR Chief Executive, Greg Peters.

“You possess one of the most decorated CVs in world rugby, which is a thoroughly deserved product of your hard work, dedication and an unwavering desire to continue raising both your own standards, and those of others around you.

“As a player with vast experience from club to Test level, you are a role model that has inspired a generation of young players and we can count ourselves lucky as they come through the ranks using your career and principles as inspiration.”

Mealamu has been named alongside fellow All Black Charlie Faumuina and Ofa Tu’ungafasi, who gets his first start of the season.

Steven Luatua is back to his regular starting spot in the loose forwards with captain Jerome Kaino and Luke Braid.

Last year’s Blues Development player of the year, Melani Nanai has earned a second start after a useful debut in South Africa as a replacement, to be joined by Frank Halai, who makes his first appearance of the season following rehabilitation from an off-season shoulder operation.

All Black Charles Piutau remains at centre and is paired in the midfield by Francis Saili.


1.Ofa Tu’ungafasi , 2. Keven Mealamu ,3. Charlie Faumuina , 4. Josh Bekhuis , 5. Patrick Tuipulotu , 6. Steven Luatua , 7. Luke Braid , 8. Jerome Kaino , 9. Jimmy Cowan , 10.Ihaia West , 11.Melani Nanai , 12.Francis Saili , 13.Charles Piutau , 14.Frank Halai , 15. Lolagi Visinia

Replacements : 16. James Parsons , 17. Sam Prattley , 18. Angus Ta’avao , 19. Hayden Triggs , 20. Brendon O’Connor , 21. Jamison Gibson-Park , 22. Simon Hickey , 23. Hamish Northcott

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.