Province make six Currie Cup changes for Pumas

Dillyn Leyds will start at fullback for Western Province

Western Province head coach John Dobson has named a Currie Cup team with six changes for this weekend’s match against the Pumas at Newlands on Saturday.

Dillyn Leyds will start at fullback in place of Cheslin Kolbe who is injured while Kobus van Wyk moves up from the bench to start in the No.14 jersey.

In the final change to the WP backline this week, Springbok scrumhalf Jano Vermaak will make his first start in Blue and White Hoops, having come off the bench last week to score a valuable try for his new team.

Up front, meanwhile, loosehead prop Steven Kitshoff has not recovered from his chest niggle, handing Oli Kebble a start in the No.1 jersey.

In the second row, Jan de Klerk will make a first start at this level, with Jean Kleyn getting a deserved rest on the bench, and skipper Nizaam Carr returns to assume the team captaincy and the No.8 jersey.

Sikhumbuzo Notshe, who started at No.8 last week, will pack down on the side of the scrum – at No.7 – with Jurie van Vuuren, a last-minute starter last weekend, reverting to the bench. The hard-hitting Rynhardt Elstadt is still unavailable with a thigh injury.

The new faces on the bench this week are fit-again hooker Michael Willemse (in for the injured Scarra Ntubeni), prop Ali Vermaak and utility back Jaco Taute.

“Jan de Klerk deserves a start in the No.4 jersey and we have a plan with Jean Kleyn in the second half,” said Coach John Dobson.

“Unfortunately, Steven Kitshoff will join Scarra Ntubeni, Rynhardt Elstadt and Cheslin Kolbe on the sidelines this week, but it gives Oli Kebble a big opportunity on the loosehead side and Ali Vermaak is deservedly back in the mix too.

“This match is hugely important for us in terms of our home semifinal hopes, so it’s good to have our captain Nizaam Carr back and we’re keen to see how Jano Vermaak goes in his first start.

“On the whole, I am looking for a big improvement – as I said last week – in terms of our discipline and sustained attack and we’re hoping to attract a nice crowd at Newlands given that it’s a 3pm kick-off.”

Western Province

15. Dillyn Leyds , 14. Kobus van Wyk , 13. Johnny Kotze , 12. Huw Jones , 11. Seabelo Senatla , 10. Robert du Preez , 9. Jano Vermaak ( Currie Cup starting debut for WP) , 8. Nizaam Carr (captain) , 7. Sikhumbuzo Notshe , 6. Chris Cloete , 5. Ruan Botha , 4. Jan de Klerk ( Currie Cup starting debut for WP) , 3. Wilco Louw , 2. Bongi Mbonambi , 1. Oli Kebble

Replacements:16. Michael Willemse , 17. Ali Vermaak , 18. Jean Kleyn , 19. Jurie van Vuuren , 20. Nic Groom , 21. Demetri Catrakilis , 22. Jaco Taute

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.