Province forced to make Currie Cup changes for EP

Dillyn Leyds comes into the Western Province starting line up

Western Province coach John Dobson has named his Currie Cup team to play the Eastern Province Kings at Newlands on Friday with a number of forced changes due to injury.

Western Province have been hit with a number of injuries but Dobson has recalled Dillyn Leyds into the starting team as he has recovered from a groin strain.

Chris Cloete, Ruan Botha and Cheslin Kolbe were all not available for selection this week, while Scarra Ntubeni (calf muscle), Jano Vermaak (groin strain) and Rynhardt Elstadt (quadracep) remain on the injured list and are also unavailable.

Seabello Senatla and Johnny Kotze are nursing slight niggles and are rested this week.

Coming into the squad, the under-21 player Leolin Zass gets a first start on the wing, while Justin Benn and Jaco Taute will feature of the bench this week.

Juan de Jongh will again captain the side in the number 12 jersey.

Western Province

15. Dillyn Leyds, 14. Kobus van Wyk, 13. Huw Jones, 12. Juan de Jongh (captain), 11. Leolin Zass, 10. Robert du Preez, 9. Godlen Masimla, 8. Nizaam Carr, 7. Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 6. Jurie Van Vuuren, 5. Chris Van Zyl, 4. Jean Kleyn, 3. Wilco Louw, 2. Michael Willemse, 1. Oliver Kebble.

Replacements: 16. Bongi Mbonambi, 17. Steven Kitshoff, 18. Jan De Klerk, 19. Justin Benn, 20. Nic Groom, 21. Kurt Coleman, 22. Jaco Taute

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.