Pocock starts for Australia against Argentina

Wallabies coach Michael Cheika and David Pocock chat at training

Australia head coach Michael Cheika has named his team to play Argentina in the Rugby World Cup Semi-final at Twickenham and included David Pocock.

Pocock missed Australia’s controversial quarter-final match against Scotland through injury.

Australia have also been given a boost with the return of fullback Israel Folau who along with Pocock returns to the starting line up.

Pocock and Folau were declared fully fit for the clash after Friday’s training session and will take their place in the starting XV, along with prop James Slipper who replaces the injured Scott Sio (elbow).

Slipper, who captained the side against the USA Eagles in Chicago last month, will start at loosehead prop while Toby Smith comes on to the reserves bench as the Wallabies prepare for their sixth Rugby World Cup Semi-Final appearance.

Vice-Captain Michael Hooper will have the honour of making his 50th Test appearance in the final four clash as the Wallabies battle for a place in the Rugby World Cup Final.

Drew Mitchell will once again line up on the wing, needing just one more try to draw level with Bryan Habana and Jonah Lomu as the all-time Rugby World Cup leading try scorer.

With the return of Pocock and Folau, Quarter-Final starters Ben McCalman and Kurtley Beale revert to the bench.

Wallabies coach Michael Cheika said: “James has been pushing for a starting spot with his performances as a finisher and I know he’ll take it with both hands.

“James is a leader in our squad and has performed well through this tournament so far and in the lead-up matches.

“This weekend is a great opportunity for the lads to improve on last week and take advantage of the chance to play on such a big stage.”

“This weekend we want to make Australia proud of their team.”


Israel Folau; Adam Ashley-Cooper, Tevita Kuridrani, Matt Giteau, Drew Mitchell; Bernard Foley, Will Genia; David Pocock, Michael Hooper, Scott Fardy; Rob Simmons, Kane Douglas; Sekope Kepu, Stephen Moore (capt), James Slipper

Replacements: Tatafu Polota-Nau, Toby Smith, Greg Holmes, Dean Mumm, Ben McCalman, Nick Phipps, Matt Toomua, Kurtley Beale.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.