Ntubeni and Kitshoff to start for WP in Currie Cup

Springbok training squad members Scarra Ntubeni and Steven Kitshoff will both
start in the front row for Western Province in Saturday’s Currie Cup clash against
Griquas at Newlands.

Ntubeni replaces Bongi Mbonambi at hooker, whilst Kitshoff comes in for Ali
Vermaak at loosehead prop, with coach John Dobson making a total of five personnel
changes to the starting line-up that went down 21-28 to the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein
last Friday.

The other changes to the WP starting XV see Nic Groom and Kurt Coleman
team up at halfback, whilst livewire flanker Chris Cloete will start in the
No.6 jersey with Rynhardt Elstadt filling in for Sikhumbuzo Notshe (shoulder)
in the No.7 shirt.

On the bench, meanwhile, Chris van Zyl is over his knee injury to slot in as
the lock replacement, fit-again Jurie van Vuuren will provide loose forward
cover and inside back Robert du Preez is set for his first taste of Currie
Cup action this season.

“Scarra and Kitsie will provide
experience and energy up front and both are deserving of their starts, despite
Kitsie joining us this week only, ” said coach Dobson.

“I’m also expecting a lot from Chris Cloete, who has made a difference
from the bench in recent weeks and although Notshe’s injury is a blow it does
give us an opportunity to have a decent look at Chris in the No.6 jersey. “

Looking at the changes amongst the Province backs division, Dobson added: “Demetri
has been our first choice flyhalf for some time, but we feel the time is right
to give Kurt a go – as was always our intention after four games – and, of course,
look at a younger player like Rob du Preez in a bid to give him game time.

“We are very fortunate to have some talented No.10s in this union, each
with his own strength, and we need to ensure that each player is given adequate
game time to press his selection claims. “

After two weeks on the road, Western Province will play their first home
match since mid-August and Dobson said: “It’s always great to be back home
at Newlands. Yes, it’s been a tough two weeks, nobody likes losing, but
we are not about to panic. Instead, we remain determined to turn things around
in front of The Faithful on Saturday. “

Western Province

15. Cheslin Kolbe ,
14. Kobus van Wyk ,
13. Johnny Kotze ,
12. Jaco Taute (vice-captain) ,
11. Seabelo Senatla ,
10. Kurt Coleman ,
9. Nic Groom ,
8. Nizaam Carr (captain) ,
7. Rynhardt Elstadt ,
6. Chris Cloete ( Currie Cup starting debut for WP) ,
5. Ruan Botha ,
4. Jean Kleyn ,
3. Wilco Louw ,
2. Scarra Ntubeni ,
1. Steven Kitshoff

Replacements: , 16. Bongi Mbonambi , 17. JP Smith , 18. Chris van Zyl , 19.
Jurie van Vuuren , 20. Godlen Masimla , 21. Robert du Preez , 22. Dillyn Leyds

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.