Northampton Saints v Gloucester Rugby Premiership Preview

Northampton Saints host Gloucester at Franklins Gardens

Northampton Saints have named their team to play Gloucester in Friday’s Aviva Premiership Round 5 match at Franklin’s Gardens with Victor Matfield on the replacements bench.

Both teams go into the game on the back of two successful weeks in Europe, and the Saints have made just the one change to the starting line-up from that which began last weekend’s win at Glasgow.

Kahn Fotuali’i swaps places with Lee Dickson at scrum-half, with Tom Wood leading the team out.

Ken Pisi has also returned to the match day 23 on the replacements bench next to Matfield who is set to make his club debut.

Northampton Saints’ only victory in their last six Aviva Premiership Rugby matches was against Newcastle at Milton Keynes, 24th October.

The Saints have lost their last two Premiership Rugby encounters at Franklin’s Gardens (both to Saracens) but have not lost three in a row at the venue in the tournament since 2011.

Gloucester Rugby’s only defeat in their last four matches in all tournaments was to Wasps at Coventry in round 4 of Aviva Premiership Rugby.

Gloucester have won two of their last three away games in all tournaments.

Gloucester have not beaten Northampton since a 26-24 victory at Kingsholm in Premiership Rugby in September 2013 whilst their only victory at Franklin’s Gardens since 2011 was 27-11 in Premiership Rugby in February 2013.

Having missed out on Gloucester’s two recent European fixtures, Jonny May is back on the left wing for this week’s match, while Mariano Galarza is named in the matchday squad for the first time this season.

The England international features in a backs division that has three new faces from the unit that started at La Rochelle a week ago. Rob Cook comes in at full-back and Willi Heinz rotates with Greig Laidlaw at scrum-half.

The pack, however, is exactly the same as the one that started the game at Stade Marcel DeFlandre. In the replacements, hooker Darren Dawidiuk is set for his first Premiership action of the season having overcome a calf injury and Mariano Galarza returns from suspension.

Gloucester’s trip to Franklin’s Gardens sees them return to the scene of their very first competitive game under David Humphreys and Laurie Fisher last season, but the Director of Rugby told the local media this week that a lot has changed since then.

“You can easily try and use that as a marker. But I’ve no doubt that as a team, whether from a coaching or playing perspective, we’re very different to where we were 12 months ago.

“It’s hard to make any comparison in terms of where we are now to where we were then. We’ve put in a huge amount of hard work and we’re a much better team.

“That hasn’t always been reflected in our performances, we’re still searching for the consistency that we need but we’re happy with where we are and looking forward to the challenge of going to Northampton, a tough place to play but a great place to play.”

The Bookies have given Gloucester a 10 point start for this Match – with an offer of up to £200 in Bonus bets.

Match : Northampton Saints v Gloucester Rugby
Date : Friday 27 November
Venue : Franklin’s Gardens,
Kick Off : 7.45pm
Live on: BT Sport
Match Officials
Referee :Greg Garner (86th Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Paul Dix and Ashley Rowden
TMO: David Sainsbury.


Northampton Saints

15 Ben Foden, 14 Ahsee Tuala, 13 George Pisi, 12 Luther Burrell, 11 George North, 10 Stephen Myler, 9 Kahn Fotuali’i,8 Sam Dickinson, 7 Tom Wood (c), 6 Jamie Gibson, 5 Christian Day, 4 Michael Paterson, 3 Kieran Brookes, 2 Mikey Haywood, 1 Alex Waller.

Replacements: 16 Matti Williams, 17 Ethan Waller, 18 Paul Hill, 19 Victor Matfield, 20 Teimana Harrison, 21 Lee Dickson, 22 Jj Hanrahan, 23 Ken Pisi.


15 Rob Cook, 14 Charlie Sharples, 13 Bill Meakes, 12 James Hook, 11 Jonny May, 10 Billy Twelvetrees (c), 9 Willi Heinz, 8 Ben Morgan, 7 Matt Kvesic, 6 Ross Moriarty, 5 Jeremy Thrush, 4 Tom Savage, 3 John Afoa, 2 Richard Hibbard, 1 Paddy McAllister.

Replacements: 17 Darren Dawidiuk, 17 Yann Thomas, 18 Paul Doran-Jones, 19 Mariano Galarza, 20 Sione Kalamafoni, 21 Greig Laidlaw, 22 Henry Purdy, 23 Jacob Rowan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.