Nine try Newcastle Falcons run riot against Enisei-STM

Marcus Watson scored an incredible four tries

English Premiership Rugby club Newcastle Falcons smashed Russian rugby side Enisei-STM 55-7 at Kingston Park in the Challenge Cup on Sunday.

Newcastle Falcons scored nine tries in the match with two from Zach Kibirige, three from Mark Wilson and an incredible four from Marcus Watson.

The temperatures may have been 20 degrees warmer than in their debut against Connacht Rugby in Krasnayarsk, but the Russians weren’t able to put a freeze on the Falcons’ scoring as they ended the game with nine tries.

Watson, whose younger brother Anthony enjoyed a Champions Cup win with Bath the previous day, enjoyed himself from start to finish as he scored tries in the 17th, 46th, 74th and 78th minutes to equal the record set by former England Sevens star Ollie Phillips against Centransa El Salvador in the 2007/08 season at Kingston Park.

Watson wasn’t the only player to pick up a hat-trick, and not even the first. He was beaten to that landmark in the game by No 8 Mark Wilson, who scored in the 15th, 25th and 30th minutes.

There were also two tries for Zach Kibirige as the Falcons hit back from their narrow defeat in Brive in round one to keep themselves very much in the hunt in Pool 1. They now have to take on Pool leaders Connacht Rugby in the back-to-back games next month.

As well as their nine tries, Tom Catterick also kicked five conversions for the home side. The try for Enisei-STM came from Denis Simplikevich.

Final Score Newcastle Falcons 55 (29) Enisei-STM 7 (7)


Newcastle Falcons
Tries – Kibirige (2), Wilson (3), Watson (4)
Pen –
Con – Catterick (5)
Drop –

Tries – Simplikevich
Pen –
Con – Kushnarev
Drop –

Match Officials
Referee: Andrew Brace (Ireland),
Assistant ref: Mark Patton (Ireland),
Assistant ref: Paul Haycock (Ireland),
Citing Commissioner: John Montgomery (Scotland)


Newcastle Falcons: Alex Tait; Zach Kibirige, Tom Penny, Chris Harris, Marcus Watson; Tom Catterick, Micky Young; Rob Vickers, George McGuigan, Jon Welsh, Calum Green, Sean Robinson, Will Welch (c), Dan Temm, Mark Wilson

Replacements: Scott Lawson, Alex Rogers, Taione Vea, Will Witty, Richard Mayhew, Ruki Tipuna, Craig Willis, Adam Powell

Enisei-STM: Iurii Kushnarev; Robert Malneek, David Kacharava, Dmitrii Gerasimov, Denis Simplikevich; Ramil Gaisin, Jurijs Baranovs (c); Aleksandr Bezverkhov, Stanislav Selskii, Innokentiy Zykov, Uldis Saulite, Viacheslav Krasylnyk, Vitalii Orlov, Andrey Temnov, Anton Rudoi

Replacements: Nazir Gasanov, Lawrence Cleminson, Evgenii Pronenko, Plavel Butenko, Mikhail Babaev, Alexey Shcherban, Igor Kurashov, Dmitrii Krotov.

With thanks to EPCRugby

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.