Quick links: Rugby Video | Six Nations Rugby | Premiership Rugby | LV= Cup | Rugby Championship | Heineken Cup Rugby | Pro 12 Rugby | Super Rugby | Currie Cup Rugby | Rugby World Cup

England, Australia & Wales land RWC death pool

The coaches of England, Australia and Wales

Email Article | | Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet

Article Published: Tuesday 4 December 2012

Rugby World Cup 2015 Hosts England have been drawn with Australia and Six Nations rivals Wales in their Pool for the next Rugby World Cup.

The draw means that one of rugby's traditional powers will be knocked out before the quarter-finals as only the top two in the pool can go through to the knockout stages.

Wales were beaten 14-12 by Australia, world champions in 1991 and 1999, in Cardiff on Saturday - their eighth straight defeat by the Wallabies.

England are currently in confident mood after their 38-21 victory over reigning world champions New Zealand at Twickenham on Saturday.

However, that win followed defeats by Australia (20-14) and South Africa (16-15) at Twickenham last month.

The Springbok loss was especially painful as it condemned England to fifth place in the world rankings but it also motivated them into beating the All Blacks.

The loss to South Africa left them outside the top four who were the leading seeds for Monday's draw, with New Zealand in top spot followed by South Africa, Australia and France.

England, world champions in 2003 after they beat Australia, have never previously been drawn in the same World Cup group as Wales.

Their last World Cup meeting was during the 2003 tournament in Brisbane, when England won a tense quarter-final after trailing at half-time.

"It's a pretty tough pool," said England coach Stuart Lancaster. "Wales, I've got a huge amount of respect for what they've done recently.

"Australia have just beaten us and are an incredibly competitive nation. We'll look forward to it in a few years' time," he added.

Meanwhile bullish Wales boss Warren Gatland said a tough draw could work in his side's favour, as it had in New Zealand last year when they reached the semi-finals after emerging from a pool featuring South Africa - who beat them 17-16 in Wellington - Samoa and Fiji

"We put ourselves in this position," said Gatland.

"Our experience of 2011 is that if you come out of a tough group, it sets you up for the quarter-finals and semi-finals," the New Zealander added.

"The tougher the group, the better."

Every team that has won the World Cup has gone through the tournament unbeaten but Gatland added a 'soft' draw had frequently worked against the All Blacks in previous tournaments.

"If you look at New Zealand, often they don't get tested enough in the pool stages and teams sometimes field a second (string) side against them, and then they (New Zealand) often come undone."

Wallaby flanker David Pocock said Australia would look forward to renewing a "rivalry that runs deep" with England.

"I'd never really experienced the magnitude of it until 2008 when we were over here and there was a lot of commentary comparing the English or Great Britain (Olympic) medal tally to that of the Australians.

"To play them (England), in the pools, there will be a lot of hype around that game and it's one you look forward to as a player."

The All Blacks, also the inaugural 1987 champions, were drawn in a Pool C with Argentina, Tonga and two as yet unqualified teams in Europe 1 and Africa 1.

It looked a kind draw, but All Blacks coach Steve Hansen said: "If you don't respect somebody you are going to get your rear-end spanked.

"No one has a God-given right to go through to the quarter-finals."

South Africa, World Cup winners on home soil in 1995 and in France in 2007, were in Pool B with Samoa, Scotland, Asia 1 and Americas 2.

"Our aim was to be in the first band of teams and we achieved that," said Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer.

"To us it doesn't matter who we are drawn against, because to win the World Cup, you have to beat the best teams out there."

France, three times losing finalists, including in New Zealand last year, were in a Pool D with a strong Six Nations bias as it also Ireland and Italy, as well as the still-to-be-decided Americas 1 and Europe 2.

But it was as favourable draw as France could have hoped for, a point not lost on coach Philippe Saint-Andre, who said: "It's not the pool of death."

The eight remaining teams will come from a series of global qualifying matches that started in Mexico in March and will culminate in 2014.

If the 2015 World Cup were to follow its current seeding path, the quarter-finals would see South Africa play England, New Zealand face Ireland, Australia up against Samoa and France take on Argentina.

The World Cup will run from September 18 to October 31, with the final at Twickenham.

Heineken Cup Rugby News
McCall excited about Champions Cup fixtures
aracens Director of Rugby Mark McCall says that he believes their opening Champions Cup fixture at Allianz Park against Stade Toulousain provides the Aviva Premiership Champions with an "incredibly exciting" start the 2015/16 competition
Read more on this Rugby news article

Other recent news
Toulon in pool of death for European Champions Cup
European Champions Cup final venues confirmed
Leinster part company with coach Matt O'Connor

More Heineken Cup Rugby News

Aviva Premiership
Anglo Welsh Cup News
Six Nations Rugby
Ritchie: England finishing second is 'not acceptable'
Rugby Football Union (RFU) chief executive Ian Ritchie has said that England's fourth consecutive runners-up finish in the Six Nations is "not acceptable".
Read more on this Rugby news article

Other recent news
Frenzied 6N finale sends World Cup warning
Mike Brown slams lacklustre Italy and Scotland
Ireland end 60 year wait for back to back titles

More Six Nations Rugby News

Rugby Week Sponsor
Rugby World Cup Video Highlights