Quick links: Rugby Video | Six Nations Rugby | Premiership Rugby | LV= Cup | Rugby Championship | Heineken Cup Rugby | Pro 12 Rugby | Super Rugby | Currie Cup Rugby | Rugby World Cup

2015 Rugby World Cup draw date set

The draw for the 2015 Rugby World Cup will take place in London

Email Article | | Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet

Article Published: Wednesday 23 May 2012

Rugby World Cup Limited have announced that the Rugby World Cup 2015 Pool Allocation Draw will take place in London on December the 3rd.

As for the 2011 tournament, the 12 automatically qualified teams will be seeded based on the IRB World Rankings on December 3, 2012 and positioned into three bands of four teams. The teams will then be randomly drawn by band into the four pools that will comprise Rugby's showcase event in England in 2015.

RWCL Chairman Bernard Lapasset said: "The format of seeding teams for the Rugby World Cup Pool Allocation Draw using the IRB World Rankings is a credible, succinct and proven method that reflects form, stimulates interest and is backed by our Unions.

"With every Test match played between now and the draw counting towards the IRB World Rankings the Pool Allocation Draw adds an extra dimension to a mouth-watering year that features the new tours and Test schedule as well as Argentina's inclusion in the new Rugby Championship."

"The Pool Allocation Draw is therefore a fitting climax as teams, fans and media look towards England 2015 and a tournament that promises to take our pinnacle event to new levels in terms of exposure, engagement and financial returns for the global Game."

Eight teams will win places through qualification process

RWC 2015 in England will comprise 20 teams allocated into four pools: 12 teams that automatically qualified from RWC 2011 in New Zealand; and eight teams that will come through the RWC 2015 global qualifier process which kicked-off in March this year.

The 12 automatic qualifiers are the Rugby World Cup 2011 winners New Zealand, runners-up France, losing semi-finalists Australia and Wales, losing quarter-finalists Argentina, England, Ireland and South Africa, and Tonga, Scotland, Italy and Samoa, who finished in third place in their respective pools.

Like the last three RWC tournaments, there will be four pools of five teams. Each team will be banded according to strength to try and ensure evenly matched pools. The teams in each band will be randomly drawn to determine the pools they go into.

The 12 directly qualified teams will be allocated into the top three bands for the random draw using the IRB World Rankings of December 3 as follows:

Band 1 - The four highest ranked directly qualified teams
Band 2 - The next four highest ranked directly qualified teams
Band 3 - The final four directly qualified teams
Band 4 - Oceania 1, Europe 1, Asia 1, Americas 1
Band 5 - Africa 1, Europe 2, Americas 2, Repechage winner

Heineken Cup Rugby News
McCall excited about Champions Cup fixtures
aracens Director of Rugby Mark McCall says that he believes their opening Champions Cup fixture at Allianz Park against Stade Toulousain provides the Aviva Premiership Champions with an "incredibly exciting" start the 2015/16 competition
Read more on this Rugby news article

Other recent news
Toulon in pool of death for European Champions Cup
European Champions Cup final venues confirmed
Leinster part company with coach Matt O'Connor

More Heineken Cup Rugby News

Aviva Premiership
Anglo Welsh Cup News
Six Nations Rugby
Ritchie: England finishing second is 'not acceptable'
Rugby Football Union (RFU) chief executive Ian Ritchie has said that England's fourth consecutive runners-up finish in the Six Nations is "not acceptable".
Read more on this Rugby news article

Other recent news
Frenzied 6N finale sends World Cup warning
Mike Brown slams lacklustre Italy and Scotland
Ireland end 60 year wait for back to back titles

More Six Nations Rugby News

Rugby Week Sponsor
Rugby World Cup Video Highlights